We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price, a little dated!”
Review of Carlton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Arms Hotel
Ranked #19 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My and wife and I booked this hotel for its location after staying in the East Village last May and as much as we loved the scene round there, the 20 minute trek to the subway each day for two weeks got tiresome fast. With two subway stations a mere 7 minute walk away the location was bliss! The bagel shop across the street was handy too for the early morning hungry while we got ready. The hotel itself is nice and the decor is better then the normal mundane white walls. We stayed in room 1C (which is up 3 flights of steep stairs as there is no elevator) as it had a private bathroom. The only issues with the room was the sink was separate from the bathroom and in the main room, which made it awkward when getting ready. We also had some pipes in the main room which work make a fair bit of noise when they got going so unless you were asleep it was about of a pain. The room was quite dark so again it was hard for my wife to get ready at night. The wifi worked fine from with the room which was great considering we were told it would only work in the corridor. All in all a good stay though, thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 400 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you want to explore NYC and around, this place is a good option. It is really well located, close to a metro station, restaurants, coffee shops and bars. The price is reasonable, considering you are in Manhattan. If you are artsy or just sensitive to arts, you will adore this place. It has a cool backpacker hostel vibe but it has the privacy you can get in a regular hotel. It has a friendly pub downstairs and it is close to a Bagel place where you can start your day with a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

How can I sum up this hotel other than terrible awful and purely miserable hotel. Yes so we kind of knew what we were letting ourselves in for by booking (however tip be careful when booking Carlton Hotel as sometimes the two are easy to mix up!) and only wanted somewhere to rest between the busy attractions but were not expecting it to be as bad as it was.
We had emailed the hotel to confirm our booking and to ask which room would be available, we had a reply and our booking was confirmed. however upon arrival we had to wait in the lobby for half hour while they tried to even establish our booking! It has no lift, some of the locks on the doors - which by the way are padlocks! Yes thats right! theres no tvs in any rooms and most mornings we had to get up half hour early to put the water on to get it warm. The rooms maybe unique but are grubby and the hallways are filthy. Out of our whole time and experience in NYC this was by far the worst.
I would rather stay at home than stay here even if offered for free again! Aviod people aviod!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chelle13tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Such an innovative design scheme for a hotel!!! Ok, so New York is always going to be a bit of a hit and miss, and this place was definitely a hit! Cool staff, nice beds, great location (Actually, SENSATIONAL!!!) Not a five star, romantic hotel. But, if you are actually travelling, and interested in the experience of new York and meeting wonderful people, and seeing art, bands, parks, eating at amazing restaurants.... Then I cannot recommend it more. If you want to spend your entire holiday in your hotel room, then why are you in New York anyway? This is a top place location to lay your head. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassPhilGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I suppose you get what you say for, and a room to yourself for $80 in the middle of Manhattan isn't bad value. I was sharing a bathroom, which was fine. There was never any sign of anyone else using it. The place is old and lived in but the wall to wall art gives it a unique bohemian feel. HOWEVER, as i was packing to leave a mouse scurried across the floor and swore never to come back. When i bought it to the attention of the member of staff at reception, i got the feeling that mice were as much a part of this place as running water.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agent_meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

At the time of our travels my husband and I were just students. It had a central location and was very affordable for an NY hotel. I loved the design of our room, which we got to pick out from what was available. Bare minimum in terms of niceties but the staff was pleasant, there were adorable kitties to love and lots of interesting art to admire and decipher.

I loved the place EXCEPT for the fact that our room, over the pizza place, constantly smelled like pizza. It didn't get in our clothes at least! Also, the bathroom wasn't very clean and smelled a bit mildewy. However compared to hostels I've been to it was in an acceptable state.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmemartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I would encourage all travellors to avoid this hotel. It was worse than many hostels I have stayed in (and there have been many!). The staff were unfriendly, the rooms are painted in dark colourse (as per photo - this is quite disturbing in dark corridors and stairwells in addition to rooms), floors uneven, the bath in the toilet on our landing partially full of water a lot of the time as it did not drain, carpets barely there, and a radiator in the corridor literally spouted steam throughout one night. There was a lot of traffic noise from our room - we think as the air conditioning means that the windows can't be fully shut - although some noise is understandably inevitable in NYC. We also had an electricity blackout while we were staying - no one came to ask if we were alright or had all that we needed, or were visible as we passed through the hallway - their solution to this was to leave bare flamed night lights on wooden staircases. We feel lucky to have got out alive!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#118 of 471 in New York City
3,314 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#234 of 471 in New York City
5,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 471 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,927 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#29 of 78 in New York City
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Arms Hotel

Address: 160 E 25th St, New York City, NY 10010-2312
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $94 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carlton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Arms Hotel New York City
Carlton Arms New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing