We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How colorful can life be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Arms Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Carlton Arms Hotel
Ranked #28 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“How colorful can life be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This place is just fascinating. If you like art you definitely want to stay there! (also if you don't).
We stayed there for five nights having a shared bathroom - it is probably one of the best deals you can get for a reasonable stay in manhatten. Rooms were not cleaned during the stay - which is totally OK. The shared bathroom was clean at anytime - great.
It is very well located (you reach times square by foot within 15minutes, and much faster by metro) and in a safe area (just two blocks from madison square park). Staff was very friendly - we could choose from a couple of rooms to decide in which we would like to stay.

We would definitely recommend this place for travellers exploring NYC looking for a cheap and well located place - if you don't need the fancy comfort of a star hotel like hair dryer, minibar or elevator. You don't spend hours in your room anyways when you are in NYC!

Room Tip: book in advance to be sure they have a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nubuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    133
    68
    39
    37
See reviews for
33
124
61
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

As I expected the Carlton Arms provided me with visual stimulations in the various corners of the Hotel from the Bathroom to the Reception. My particular room was perhaps not the most expressive but the overall effect was magic. The location was superb- couldn´t be better! All the staff were helpful and quick to accommodate my various needs, including booking super shuttle to the airport, extra towels even after I had checked out etc. The only note I would add is that the decoration is distinctly more DAvid Lynch - symbolic and dark and may not be to everyones tastes as the go down the darkly lit corridors at night - but it agreed with my sensibilities: ) x x x

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soldezign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

This place was fantastic, sure people may complain if they're expecting a lot from budget accommodation but it was in a safe and really good location in New York city, perfect if you're first time travellers to New York. The staff were extremely helpful and if you're unhappy with your room they are more than happy to change you. We stayed for 10nights over New Years and loved it! Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kdub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

I have stayed here a few ties in the last few years but hadn't written a review sicne I just joined Trip Advisor...

Anyway, as some mentioned, there isn't room service or breakfast included and most roomed are shared bath, but for the location and the cleanliness of the rooms (I have never experienced dirty rooms as some have mentioned and I've stayed here 3 times 3 different yrs) this is a GREAT price. Most hotels in this city for this type of service (i.e. no room service, etc) are at least $80 more and at least this one is walking distance to midtown for Broadway and Times Squares etc, as well as from the Eat Village and anything south really.

You're in New York City. You don't need a TV in your room. Or room service. You need to go out there and soak it al in and this place is perfect for that because of its location and price. Definitely recommend. But reserve as soon as you decide to go to NYC (at least a month in advance) since rooms book up fast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julied945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
143 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

You cannot beat it for the price and great location, only a few blocks from several subway stations. The decor is interesting and unique, as all the walls have been painted with different themes - while it may not be your cup of tea, it at least is better than ugly bare walls. It is in effect more of a hostel, as it has many rooms with shared bathroom. The rooms are a bit bare, but effective, and hey, this is NY, you are not spending much time in your room. The hallways and bathrooms were clean. The staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank move360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

this is probably one of the cheapest places you will find in New York
Do not expect room service or free breakfast. Yes it may be difficult to reach the fourth floor with heavy baggages and the hotel is in needs of some renovation BUT
The place is unique with artists painting rooms halls and bathrooms.
We have been there several times and this was the cleanest we ever found it .
Most rooms do not have bathrooms or toilets but bathrooms and toilets are on each floor and were always very clean.
Access to the internet in the common room and in your room for a fee
We saw families, teenagers staying there.the area seems very safe with restaurant and coffee nearby
and we loved the friendly cat. the only drawback is the incessant noise from the main street .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cv36000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

I knew what the hotel was like before going as a friend had stayed there a couple years ago. I loved the place! Its cute and has a lot of fun art. I'm into staying at hostels or places with history. The only complaint I had by the end of the stay was the 68 stairs to my room.

Room Tip: Email in advance and confirm on time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahl4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#363 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#19 of 74 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#25 of 74 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Arms Hotel

Property: Carlton Arms Hotel
Address: 160 E 25th St, New York City, NY 10010-2312
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Arms Hotel New York City
Carlton Arms New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing