We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, convenient B&B - a great alternative to big name Manhattan hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Upper Yorkville Suites
Ranked #40 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient B&B - a great alternative to big name Manhattan hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed based for a week at the Upper Yorkville suites as an alternative to a typical big name Manhattan hotel. (Couple, plus teenager). Our apartment was on the second floor, absolutely spotless, modern and while not super-chic it was well appointed ( free fast WiFi, large-screen TVs etc). The building contains three or four independent apartments each with own front door. The location is where real New Yorkers which made the trip far more interesting.

The innkeepers actually run a hardware store below so were always accessible, but after 1 day, we started to feel that this really was a comfortable home from home. All amenities were right on the doorstep as stated in the other reviews, so we wasted no time in stocking up for snacks, fresh fruit etc, even though soft drinks, breakfast cereals and milk are supplied every day by the housemaid.

On checking out leaving, the innkeepers kept our luggage safely all day and in the afternoon we could freshen up before the ordered taxi arrived.

The only slight minus point are the two aircon units, one at each end of the apartment. The are both really effective in keeping the apartment cool during the August heatwave, but were a bit louder than one might expect.

Overall we can really recommend this place if you want a clean, easy, safe and convenient B&B experience in NYC. The photos on their website are accurate and true. We will certainly be back, for sure. Drop into the East Harlem café for breakfast and check out Pee Dee steakhouse and Amor Cubano for dinners (nr 110th St)

Room Tip: There is no lifts, and all except one bedroom faces the main 3rd Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
12
25
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was super clean and very modern. There was plenty of space for us (2 adults, 2 kids). Although the area looks a little dodgy, the people were friendly and just going about their business. It was a short walk to the subway, which we took everywhere, and we felt very safe, even coming back from the subway at 11pm at night. The guys who run the place are helpful and friendly, there's a supermarket close by, Dunkin Donuts downstairs (with great breakfast bagels!) and a fruit stand across the street which is open for business into the wee hours of the morning! Plus, you are only about 10 minutes walk to the Museum of the City of New York and Central Park. We were even lucky enough to catch a couple of local baseball games at the ball fields in Central Park right at the entrance nearest us! Great apartment, great location, great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simlou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, AL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were very uneasy when we struggled through the subway with our luggage (website said it wasn't recommended with a lot of luggage--- I wouldn't recommend it with ANY luggage!) and get to UYS and find it locked up. I had tried calling several times and sent two emails with our arrival times (more than the website requested). There was no machine to leave our message. The phone just rang and rang. Someone called me back once while I was in the subway so it didn't pick up. When we got there, my husband and I both called repeatedly on the phone until someone finally answered and told my husband to get someone from the hardware store next door to let him in. He finally got David, one of the owners, to come and let us in.
He was nice and let us into our room and proceeded to show us around while we tried to catch our breath from climbing the steep stairs with our luggage. We were very pleased with our room. It was clean and everything was working well. It was loud, as the bedroom portion of the room is situated over 3rd Ave and McDonald's. However, we enjoyed the room, free internet, and television. Our last day of stay, the internet stopped working properly, and we weren't sure of who to ask to fix it so we just dealt with it.
The subway was very close (about a block and a half away) which was great. We hired a driver to take us to the airport. We weren't about to try to navigate the subway with our bags again.
Pros: great room, internet, television, kitchen
Cons: location a bit daunting (Spanish Harlem) for a newcomer to New York, lots of stairs

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We were very happy staying in the Upper Yorkville Apartments for 2 months. They are nicely set out with wooden floors. I loved having cleaners daily and there were several laundries in the nearby streets. There is a supermarket very close by and it is about 10 blocks from an organic supermarket. There is no smoking so there were no nasty lingering smells. We were there in winter and while there was snow outside we were warm inside. You do need to be able to handle stairs as there is no lift. We stayed in the one bedroom which has a sofa bed in the lounge room. They can handle up to 5 people. Many of the bedrooms are facing Third Avenue which can be noisy (it is New York); earplugs easily fix that if you want silence. It was easy to get to all the tourist areas as the subway system is fantastic and a station is very close by. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaJEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

After doing alot of research and being warned off vacation rentals, we chose here, and it was a nice surprise to be greeted on our arrival by David, whose is one of the co-owners. It seems most of the units bedrooms face onto 3rd av., except the York suite, so it can be noisy at times at night, especially as we had come from the quietness of the ski fields.
Everthing else about the unit was fine, we stayed in the Broadway on the 2nd floor, and it was a pleasure to get back to the unit after a day of the city bussle. As we were there for 5 nights we got the weekly metro pass, as we used the handy subway everyday, and it takes only 20 minutes or so to get downtown. This was our first visit to NY, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, and left a bit worn out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulgl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

I stayed at Upper Yorkville in November of last year. Been to the city many, many times before, but never stayed in this area before. El Barrio (the neighbourhood) is fantastic - amazing food, about 4 blocks to Central Park.....spectacular setting. Upper Yorkville Suites was by the far the best accomodations I've ever had the pleasure of staying in whilst in NYC...I was in the Lexington suite, which was enormous and very spacious, with every amenity you could think of. It is a bit of a hike up the stairs to the 3rd floor, but they were kind enough to help me up....a friend flew down from Toronto to join me on the weekend, and she was just as impressed. Very trendy studio - so perfectly appointed! Subway just around the corner! Downtown in 15-20 mins via subway. Best place to enjoy the locals - if you're not a touristy Times Square traveller - go to Upper Yorkville Suites!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rothcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed in the Lexington suite for 5 days over Christmas and were really pleased with our apartment. The pictures on the website were accurate and in fact we were pleasantly surprised that it was bigger than we expected. We were greeted by the housekeeper who helped us with our bags and showed us around. We had a full kitchen with fridge/over/hobs/etc and a good sized bathroom

We had a great lounge area, with very comfy couch and LCD tv. The bedroom area was big enough and comfortable. However, the bedroom area was streetside and a bit noisy at certain times in the morning. The central heating is also loud when it comes on - the pipes rattle a little. The building is next to a McDonalds which meant relatively loud deliveries/collections early in the morning. Having said that, we were prepared for a noisy stay - it is New York! Also, if you are making the most of your time in New York you will be so tired by the end of the day you will sleep soundly anyway! The subway station is 2 minutes walk away and we had no problems whatsoever with the area in general.

The room was cleaned to a perfect standard everyday and we were well stocked with cereals, biscottis, tea and coffee.

Overall we were delighted with our stay. We are a couple in our late twenties so it was perfect for us as we spent most of the time out and about. This was the perfect base to come home to.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterBeth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#2 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#22 of 75 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Royal Suites Manhattan
#62 of 163 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 75 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Yorkville Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Yorkville Suites

Property: Upper Yorkville Suites
Address: 1876 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10029-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Upper Yorkville Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Upper Yorkville Suites, conveniently located at 1876 3rd Avenue, between 103rd & 104th Street on the East Side of Manhattan. Each suite has its own full kitchen, full bathroom, and air conditioning, flat panel TV w/cable, free WIFI and much more! Many of our suites can comfortably accommodate a family as large as five. We are only one or two blocks away from major public transportation (Bus and Train) and private car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Upper Yorkville Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Yorkville Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing