We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search

“Quick, high-quality lunch”

Original Sandwich Shoppe
Order Online
Ranked #491 of 717 Quick Bites in New York City
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Reviewed May 26, 2015

A fairly basic sandwich joint, but the selection is greater than average and the quality very good. An excellent choice for a quick lunch.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2014

We were walking in the Village and just happened on this great spot for lunch. I wish more TA people had mentioned it before going to New York because it is worth searching out. There were 3 of us and we all had a different sandwich and they were all excellent. I had the chicken salad on foccacia and it was great. I couldn't finish it because the filling was such a generous portion. I couldn't dream of having it go to waste and gave it to a homeless guy on the walk back to the hotel. He had a huge smile on his face as he chowed down on it.
You can choose your bread and choose your filling. Very reasonable prices for great food!! We sampled their smoked turkey which they cook daily. It was moist and delicious.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank northshoretraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2014

We ordered 4 salads and were very impressed. Plenty of vegetables in the salad and the chicken topping it was perfectly grilled. The place is small and cozy.

Date of visit: November 2014
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I really liked this place, for it was small and a little funky, but in a charming way ... a way that delivers you that feeling of "authenticity".

Sandwhiches and Omlette were excellent, and at a great price. If you're in Greenwich Village and in the need of a sandwich, go there!

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NutellaReign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

if you're looking for a good sandwich for lunch at a good price this is the place to visit. worth the drive, the walk, or the subway ride.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dlellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Sandwich Shoppe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Original Sandwich Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing