We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truffle Cream Sauce - Out of this world...”

In Vino Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #5,145 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: Avenue A
Description: Rated as one of the NYC's Best Wine Bars by ZAGAT SURVEY, In Vino offers a cozy cave-like atmosphere, knowledgeable service, and well over one hundred unique and unusual wines culled from all over Italy. We are also known for our authentic, rustic Italian fare. Our meatballs and lasagna are among the best in the city, and our porcini ravioli in a truffle cream sauce can’t be beat. Check out our seasonal specials and our list of artisanal cheeses. Sundays also bring in a crowd for our select list of half-price bottles, and Mondays bring in cheeselovers for our $1 per slice night!
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Truffle Cream Sauce - Out of this world...”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

As fantastic as everyone has already said. Fun, romantic decor. Incredible truffle cream sauce and a fantastic wine list, with very favorable priced bottles. A great neighborhood find.

Service was a bit dicey, but very heartfelt.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmishSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We chose to revisit this restaurant on our current trip to NYC having first come whilst we lived here. Lovely and cosy atmosphere and very friendly staff. We shared the Bruschetta Funghi which was pleasant. I had the gnocchi bianco which was as yummy a I remembered. My partner had the lasagna which was lacking on the cheese but was rather meaty so kept him very happy. My glass of fizz was also reasonably priced. I would highly recommend, especially as a romantic date location.

Helpful?
Thank tal202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the best Osso Buco I've ever had-”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great place- atmosphere, service, wine list-( serves nothing else) great date restaurant! Make a reservation and go! Cozy, cavernousLook for it- can easily be missed if not looking- Kieth knows his wines-excellent!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreatCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Had a very enjoyable evening in this happening little place. Very unpretentious. My wife was skeptical. Waiter wearing jeans and Elvis Costello T Shirt. Was very knowledgable on menu, preparation, and wine list. Very attentive and friendly. Food was very good nervy felt hurried and let us enjoy even though busy. We drove in from PA parking very limited ended up pay $45 at a local lot.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Huge wine selection and good Italian food”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

A nice spot to stop before heading to a Broadway Show. We thought we needed a reservation, but it wasn't overly crowded. Wait staff was very helpful in picking the right wine to go with our food selection. So even if you're not a wine connoisseur, no fear, they'll help you out.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank RestlessInBrookfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Vino Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to In Vino Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing