We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petrie Court Cafe & Wine Bar

Petrie Court Cafe & Wine Bar
Ranked #2,269 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Marsal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Located in a major court of the museum with European sculptures and with one huge glass wall against the backdrop of Central Park. Long queue, and very noisy, so we choose for the Members Dining Room.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank INSEARCHOF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    111
    53
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Convenient and good setting for museum going. The food is average but the setting is beautiful next to the sculpture and looking out at the park.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Islandhome3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Would pass due to slow service and limited menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Although the view from the café is beautiful, I would not recommend. They opened the restaurant 15 minutes late for lunch which was irritating and the waiter ignored us for the next 10 minutes which really annoyed us. And no apology. This restaurant serves lunch everyday so hard to figure out the slow service. Also, limited menu and entrée prices were expensive in my opinion. A $20 hamburger.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PasoWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Left hungry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Now most times I dine out when visiting the US I can only manage one course. This was the exception - I wanted a light bite but did not realise how light the bite was going to be. I ordered Crostini @ $15.00 and left hungry. Not the spot to refuel unless you want to invest time and money in your meal. Good food, poor value. Coffee good for those of you who like me find it hard to get a decent coffee in the US.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank locationspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No place to go if you are hungry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

If you want a full meal, go somewhere else. We were a party of 5. We all decided to go with the fixe dinner at $39 each. The menu promised three courses with a glass of wine. The wine was OK, the food tasted pretty good, and presentation was lovely. My issue was with the quantity of food. We all had to eat again a couple of hours later. Price was high for the amount of food you get. And , as other reviewers have said, the service was pretentious and cold. I will not eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank BrianDekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrie Court Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Petrie Court Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing