We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
Review of Times Square

Times Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Crossroads of the World Running Tour
Ranked #26 of 1,093 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Central area in NYC that has many shops, restaurants, office buildings and flashing billboards around it.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I like all thing in time square I like the crowded and the light
And I was leave in Marriott time square

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bander2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33,779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19,915
    8,128
    3,917
    1,159
    660
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What can I say...A must for tourist”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

So much to see and do in Times Square. I stayed in New York for 3 days and ended up back at Times Square every day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Crowded, exciting, sensory overload - and quintessential NYC”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

With two kids from SC, Times Square finally gave them the sensation that indeed they were in NYC. The "naked" cowgirl, street fair, even a kosher texas bbq set up in the middle of the blocked street. We loved just walking and looking at all of the consumerism blasting at you from all sides.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ForeignStaffing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had a great time at Times Square. It's fun to have a first-hand experience of a New Yorker's busy life and you can feel the excitement in the air of being in New York! The lights and sounds make the world a lot more interesting!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shruti02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
539 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Times Square New Years Eve TIPS”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Got a few requests about tips for the NYE Ball Drop in Times Square......here they are:

Biggest tip is get to Times Sq early on NYE.....we got there just as they were taking down the barriers around 2:30pm(they close it off in the morning and don't reopen it until the afternoon). We ended up about 100yd from the stage, and about 150 yards from the ball, not too bad.....great view from where we were at. They then corral you in, so once in you can't leave (if you do you won't get your place back). Bring plenty of things to entertain you, the excitement level is high the first hour, but after that people start calming down and relaxing for the long wait. Bring a book, ipod, something to keep you entertained. Bring something to stay hydrated, but not something that will cause you to need the bathroom, again if you leave the will NOT let you back in. Pizza guys will walk by the outer perimeter of the corrals so you can get food that way, I'd also suggest trying to get a spot along the edge of the corral....way more comfortable. It'll seem packed in the beginning, but as people relax and adjust to the conditions you actually have room to sit down, many people will leave thru the evening too, they just can't take the long wait. Be patient! Around 6pm they'll start doing countdowns from around the world live, and they follow that with a different music performer on the main stage. This will entertain you about the first 15 mins of every hour, you still have 45 mins to keep yourself entertained each hour. Good luck! It is a great time, but something I'd only do once, it was that "once in a lifetime" bucket list item for me and my son (12 at the time).

If you are going without children and have the money, I'd suggest looking into TGIFridays, Bubba Gumps or any of the other restaurants on the square. They offer the view, food and drink, bathrooms and sitting, all for a fee of course, from a couple of hundred bucks per person and up. We were scheduled to do one, then found out you had to be 21 yrs or older, thus my son was too young.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank bruce p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Times Square also viewed

 

Been to Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing