We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Central Park bike tour

My teenage girls were bellyaching about having to ride bikes, but afterwards, they confessed that... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2018
821rachaelr
,
Austin, Texas
via mobile
We went back for more.......!

You know your children (14 & 13) have had a great day when they ask if they can go back and do... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2018
P_Hindle
,
Hale, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 81 reviews
  
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
54
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
54
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bike tour lower manhattan brooklyn waterfront central park nice tour new york upper west side different perspective highlight of our trip wall street route bikes guide headsets earpiece commentary pace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

My teenage girls were bellyaching about having to ride bikes, but afterwards, they confessed that the tour was “awesome.” Max told us so many interesting facts along the way and he was super friendly and accommodating. We got to sit and visit with him in coffee shops and lunch and hear about life in NYC. Central Park is positively dreamy. This is the second tour I’ve been on with this company and the reason they are the best is because the guides truly love New York. It shows! Thanks for a fantastic day! Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 821rachaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

You know your children (14 & 13) have had a great day when they ask if they can go back and do another tour........so we did!

In short, great guides who really know their stuff, interesting and different insights into New York you wouldn’t necessarily find in the guide books, good places to stop for coffee and lunch and a great way to see the City for an active family.

For those wanting a bit more detail - Our first experience with Get up and Ride was with Max on Sunday around Central Park. We met at the storage warehouse and welcomed by Max. He took us through the initial safety briefing and made sure the helmets fitted correctly, bikes were all set up at the right heights and we were comfortable with the walk-in talkies (more later).

On a roasting hot day the breeze from riding the bikes were perfect. The cycling on the designated cycle ways is easy and well marked. There are some gentle hills in Central Park itself (Max saved us from the Central Park Alp!). If you are at all concerned about riding on the roads then the Central Park Tour is for you. There are no cars in Central Park and whilst you have to do some road cycling much of the tour is on the cycle ways of Central Park.

The headsets work brilliantly. They allow your guide to point out things of interest and talk to you without having to stop constantly. They are also really helpful for instructions when approaching the busier junctions and traffic lights.

For our second venture around New York we headed out to Lower Manhattan with Jim. The same set up with collecting bikes etc. This time we were a group of 9 including Jim which made getting round a little more difficult but it still worked very well. We had walked parts of the area around Wall Street and the Freedom Tower the day before but this ride gives you a very different perspective to being right in the middle of it. There are some great views of the Brooklyn, Manhattan and Williamsburg bridges with good opportunities for photos. This tour takes you through the heart of China Town and Little Italy so you see real life in the streets rather than the more sanitised experience around 5th Avenue etc.

Thank you to Max and Jim for sharing New York with us. We really enjoyed our days out with you.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank P_Hindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Blake was super great and knowledgeable about NYC. I loved that the tour uses walkintalkie with earpieces so Blake can tell us things along the way. The pace was perfect. We stopped at a coffee/pastries shop and also a NY pizza place for lunch. Combo of streets and beautiful Central Park. Bikes were really nice and well maintained. Would go again for sure!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank David Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Our tour with James was the highlight of our 7 day trip to New York. It was amazing. Make sure you do one of these bike yours early in your trip as we were given lots of recommendations from James of places to visit and things to do while we were there, all of which were great suggestions. The commentary was informative and interesting, coffee and lunch breaks were perfect and the pace was tailored to the group. I would highly recommend this and I will definitely do another one next time I am in New York!! Thanks James for a great day

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank HilaryS697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

We had a fantastic day cycling around the upper west side and throughout Central Park. I loved the commentary delivered via ear pieces, the food stops were perfect and we lucked in with gorgeous weather.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank fmurdoch2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews