We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Ways to Experience United Nations Headquarters
from $16.99
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
Reviews (1,930)
Filter reviews
1,930 results
Traveler rating
871
616
311
95
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
871
616
311
95
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general assembly security council guided tour member states human rights gift shop international relations world peace photo id book shop security check east river new york inside the building great tour take pictures chamber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,930 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The UN was founded on October 24, 1945. There are about 193 member States and two observer States. Good place to learn about the UN’s never ending humanitarian and peacekeeping efforts.

Date of experience: September 2019
56  Thank KodoDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Feels little short. But good place to visit with family.
make sure you check the website regularly. The tours start inside the building and run every 15 minutes and they last around 45 minutes to 1 hour. hey take you through the various rooms where the delegates meet and discuss and provide a history of each of the initiatives of the UN.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank KimYongSookr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for visiting the UN , the General Assembly (for more than 10 seconds), see the entrance hall with all the flags, etc. then do not bother to buy tickets. I did the tour in Spanish with my family. In total, we paid around 70$. When we arrived at the tour, the guide was Austrian. Nothing wrong with that, but I am sure there was Spanish native speakers that could have given the tour too. In any case, her Spanish was not bad at all, just pointing it out. However, she rushed us through the rooms, not letting us stand for a couple of minutes in the General Assembly because there was a session. Instead she told us to quickly walk from one door to the other. I understand there is a session but can you just tell us to be quiet while we are in and let us enjoy being there for more than 10 seconds? She showed us different presents from different countries to the UN for more than half of the tour, but when we asked her about the part with the Hiroshima bombs, she only gave us like a two sentence explanation, whereas the English tour guide was giving a much extent explanation (we would have switched groups if we could have honestly). When we wanted to get in the Security council room, it was in session and thus, not possible to enter in. However, we were lucky and the session finished before we left that area so we could actually sit in. In general it was a very poor tour. I am sure the guide is not to blame only, but that is the only tour she can give, the only places she could take us. But when you pay 20$ for a ticket to visit the UN you expect to visit ALL. So, UN, if you want to offer tours , either give them for free or, if you are making people pay, show more than what you allow currently.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Andreagoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Managed to visit the general assembly chamber but there was some lighting issue and it was completely dark. The security council chamber was fine though. Our guide was a young lady who introduced us to the work of the UN.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Yang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

The guide had a very heavy accent, it was difficult to understand her. I think because you host people from all over the word. That was the main problem. And much more explenations needed about the work of the UN.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Fearless695116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews