We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Red Egg

Red Egg
Ranked #1,814 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: Howard Street
Transit: J, M, N, R, Q, W, Z & 6 trains to Canal Street, 6 train to Spring Street, and B & D trains to Grand Street.
Description: Originally opened in 2008 as both a Peruvian and Cantonese restaurant, owner and culinary director Darren Wan decided to reconceptualize the already successful restaurant in 2010 into the chic, upscale and exclusively Cantonese format that it is today. Melding traditional Chinese cuisine with a hip and contemporary venue, RED EGG caters to those looking for excellence in their cuisine as well as in the ambiance they want to enjoy it in. In addition to the Cantonese and Szechuan specialties menu, RED EGG features classic Cantonese dim sum throughout the day. Recently awarded the Bib Gourmand rating in the MICHELIN Guide New York City 2011. Don't forget to try the Peking Duck Sliders, Pan Fried Dumplings and Red Egg Filet Mignon to name a few.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
412 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I found this restaurant on a top list of dim sum in NYC and had high hopes. The whole meal was disappointing and the service was challenging. Just getting soy sauce and hot chili was an ordeal. The dim sum is more expensive than most places in the area and a lot of it was inedible. We ordered the garlic spare ribs which tasted like they had been cooked a few times and left out. The radish cake tasted fishy. The taro cilantro dumplings were awful. The sticky rice was edible but that's as much as I can say for it. The shanghai dumplings were small but not bad. I used to think any dim sum was better than no dim sum but this was really bad. I can usually eat anything and I've never left so much food on a table. We had to go eat elsewhere. Skip this place and stick with Jing Fong.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    81
    22
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Took a chance and it was worth it.”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

After watching our son play college basketball in Brooklyn we took our younger children and niece and nephew across the Manhattan bridge into the "big City". We had planned to go to Joe Shanghai's and to the candy store at the end of Pell street but when we arrived there line was out the door and the wait looked so long. We couldn't find anywhere to park and while we were circling I went to Open Table and looked up good Chinese restaurants in China town. The reviews were okay but the natives were getting restless in the car and we decided to take a chance. We found on the street parking (near the three very intoxicated men trying to sell us things ) and walked the two blocks up centre street. We were the only patrons in the restaurant and although eh staff was nice and helpful, they did stare a lot when our kids ate everything in sight. We ordered dim sum -the dumplings were good and everyone like them. The pork balls were okay. We ordered three entrees and rice - Low Mein with beef, Garlic Chicken and Sesame chicken. The low mein and garlic chicken were amazing. The sesame chicken was okay. The tea was very good and they refilled our little teapot twice. We thought it was definitely a good meal and our kids are still talking about it. Had to stop on street and buy chopsticks for home - although our local Chinese place will never be a good. Reasonable prices too to boot!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsniice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“simply delicious”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I like this restaurant alot. I'm vegan & my boyfriend is a carnivore, & we always find food to please us both at Red Egg. My boyfriend luvs the roast pork buns & asst dim sum, & there are always plenty of vegetarian dumplings & spring rolls for me, but if I'm in the mood for more of a real meal deal, i can always have the Mixed Vegetable dish or Fried Tofu with Mushrooms. Before or after your meal, check out the Museum of Chinese in America just down the street.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rag1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level Contributor
295 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Dragon, Drums, and Food, Oh My!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Visited this restaurant on a Saturday night, the day after the Chinese New Year. The greeter was friendly, wished us a happy new year and walked us to the table. The atmosphere is pleasant and the aroma of foods made us more hungry. We watched as different dishes were being delivered to the neighboring tables to get an idea of foods to order. We ordered different platters for everyone's taste buds. The food was fresh, hot and delicious. Service was very good. We were entertained by a dancing dragon and drums. It was a good time for all, and I would return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikecarstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
197 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great Dim Sum”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had an extended family Saturday brunch at Red Egg. Since we were a large group it provided to opportunity to sample a very large variety of dishes. To simply put it, all were really good. The place is somewhat more quite than similar dim sum places in Chinatown which adds a point.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ami130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Egg also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Red Egg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing