We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty steaks” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of TGI Friday's

TGI Friday's
Ranked #9,272 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nasty steaks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Ok, we had a late night around Rockefeller and there's not many restaurants around this area so TGI 5th Ave was a last resort since we couldn't be bothered to hunt for a decent eatery. I wasn't expecting much.

Service is ok, our waitress was attentive and topped up our bottomless drinks right on time. The food however, was substandard and my "medium rare, Juicy rib eye steak" was cooked into something resembling a thin leathery shoe sole, grey all throughout and dry as a 5000 year old Egyptian mummy. Seriously awful. The ribs were acceptable, just. For a piece of leathered steak, this is overpriced garbage.

Please don't come here unless of last resort.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyBear43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    68
    106
    75
    141
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Substandard, Rip-off!!! Tourists Beware!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I can only feel bad for the tourists who eat here since its close to the Rockefeller Center.
The food is substandard and expensive.
We ordered a rib-eye steak and what a rib-eye that was. It looked like a thin cut of cheap meat that BJ's has an even better reproduction of it. The taste was blah. The presentation was no better.
We also ordered buffalo wings, which tasted well on the inside but with too much batter.
Overall i just think it was a waste of money. Thank God Im not a tourist.
Im certainly not coming back!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingKaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizza13
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Food was good, service was so-so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were seated quickly, and got our drinks and ordered quickly.. took about 25-30 minutes to get our food, and our waitress disappeared before we go our food. We never saw her again. Nobody came to check on us. The food was really good though. We had the Jack Daniels Ribs, Shrimp and Chicken plate in the appetizer section.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were impressed with the food and service. It was very busy but we were seated quickly and it was better than expected

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DannyKSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There are better places to eat nearby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Generally overpriced, the restaurant is quite small and crammed with tables. It was very busy (we ate around 1pm) but I put that down to its convenient location on 5th Ave. We didnt have much of a wait for a table. Its not the cleanest place Ive eaten in and it seriously lacks atmosphere - there are much better quality places to eat if you venture just a few blocks away. Dont go unless you really feel the need to eat at a TGI Fridays and dont want to venture off 5th Ave whilst out shopping.

Helpful?
Thank True-review-online
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed TGI Friday's also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to TGI Friday's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing