We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Richland New York
Nearby Hotels
$316
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$237
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$236
$205
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$176
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$400
$341
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$249
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
306
297
79
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
297
79
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoward johnsoneast broadwayallen streetnew yorkrooms are smallrecommend this hotelfree breakfastlower manhattanbagelssubway stationbreakfast roomshort stayeach morningvery nice hotelbattery parkbed was very comfortablenyc hotels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 706 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We chose the Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho for its location and price
point. I was familiar with the area already else I might have had some
qualms about the neighborhood on first pass, but it's just great! In
Chinatown, right next to the Lower East Side neighborhood. Several train
lines to choose from. Walk to waterfront. Very clean rooms (yes, small, but
quite fine and the bathroom was excellently sized!). Only 4 rooms to a
floor! Very New York. My husband's first trip to NYC and this hotel
impressed him. The staff is very knowledgeable, very helpful and always
available. The free breakfast was a bonus! Will definitely stay there again
next time I need a hotel in NYC

Room Tip: Even being in such a busy area, we didn't notice any noise at all (we were on the 3rd floor).
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne and Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was very modern and clean, but the rooms were VERY small!!!! I understand things are pricey in New York, but this hotel seemed to be a bit of a rip off. The room was VERY Small and the bill was VERY big! The breakfast I felt could have been better. They should offer a hot breakfast instead of a continental breakfast. There was only one ice machine for the entire hotel and it was located in the cellar. There were windows in the bathroom that you had to close the blinds or all of the neighborhood would see you showering!!!! There was zero sound proofing as you could hear everything people said in the hallways, the elevator dinging opening and closing, and doors slamming. This took place all hours of the night. There was no parking available, not even to unload your bags. We had to have the staff block a space for us to load our car upon check out. A few positives, some of those were the staff. They were very nice and cordial. In fact if not for Anthony and Lena buying our subway passes from us, we would have lost over $40 in those passes because the subway staff refused to refund money on the metrocard. The last thing I feel is important is that the description of the hotel leads a visitor to believe that the hotel is close to Chinatown and Little Italy.... I guess that depends on a persons idea of close. We felt that we were staying in the heart of an Asian country and we only found Little Italy as we were leaving. Please DO NOT misunderstand me. I am not racist in any way shape of form, but the only places to eat were predominantly Asian food and forgive me for not wanting to eat Asian food for breakfast. This hotel was not at all what we expected, but the elevator was cool!

Room Tip: All the rooms are tiny but clean, but if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs because it is VERY noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna_Spry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staff are friendly and nice. Price is slightly higher than offering. Noise level between hallway and room is high. Hotel location is not in a decent area but it's convenient. Internet service is very slow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1953-Kaiping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews