We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Frick Collection

Frick Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.00*
and up
New York City Sightseeing Tour by Coach
Ranked #10 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Henry Frick once resided in this 18th-century French-style mansion; now its the home of his impressive art collection, which includes Titian, Vermeer, Rembrandt, El Greco, Goya, Whistler and more.
Balmenach, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent a couple of hours looking at some great art. Audio tour very good. Small shop and no refreshments available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,063
    1,214
    206
    47
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a hidden treat!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This outstanding art collection is housed in the former home of Henry Frick (1849 - 1919) and his wife on Fifth Avenue. Tranquil environment and beautiful grounds makes it the perfect place to view the wonderful art of Bellini, Rembrandt, Vermeer, Goya and Whistler. Also wonderful sculptures and artifacts. Much more intimate and slower paced than the larger museums. Enjoyed every minute!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldie6587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Living the dream on Fifth Avenue”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We are both not art lovers and normally wouldn't rush to a museum like this. However friends had recommended and we where not disappointed.

It is a beautiful museum and gives you an glimpse of how the other half live!

There is amazing pieces of art everywhere and the audio tools really help us get the most out of the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jec000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You do not need to be a great art lover to see this”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I went there with my husband who is not very interested in art but even he loved this. Great combination of art and history. I think this is a must to see if you visit New York.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mariitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It like living on Fifth Avenue for a few hours”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've lived near Manhattan all my life and never went to this museum. Last February my husband surprised me for our 40th wedding anniversary and booked a wonderful hotel to stay at for a long weekend. We've toured so many places in Europe,the US and cruised the Caribbean but we were never tourists in NY. It was so wonderful to have this opportunity to see through the eyes of a tourist how wonderful this city so close to me really is. And going to the Frick mansion and seeing the wonderful art works is really a great treat. Besides the wonderful collection of art, the mansion itself is a wonderful insight into another era of how the wealthy lived and the opulence of the time. It's right across from Central Park on 5th avenue. So treat yourself and go fantasize about living there, the lavish life style and picture yourself living among all the wonderful art

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frick Collection also viewed

 

Been to Frick Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing