We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Frick Collection

Frick Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.00*
and up
New York City Sightseeing Tour by Coach
Ranked #10 of 1,090 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Henry Frick once resided in this 18th-century French-style mansion; now its the home of his impressive art collection, which includes Titian, Vermeer, Rembrandt, El Greco, Goya, Whistler and more.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A great stop to get away from the crowds of the other museums. The art is nice but the building is a great work all in its own. I really wanted to see the upstairs, but not allowed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bealight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,952
    1,200
    201
    47
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Only happy and beautiful art found here”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a private house, belonging to Mr. Frick, and the house itself, the gardens, and the decor are worth seeing, but his art collection is amazing. He only collected works that made him happy, and I think that seeing them will make you happy too. Enjoy! Not a huge gallery, but big in content.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing art in a unique setting.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Sunday's before 1 pm the entrance is almost free. It is the one day a week that you can pay what you can. I visited the museum in the morning before my flight, so it was enough for a couple of hours. You will find yourself in front of a Renoir, Vermeer, Turner, Velazquez...too many to mention and be awed by these great masters. Take the audio. Beautiful mansion, great collection.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank govali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful collection of art”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The art collection is amazing, and I love that you can actually see a movie while in the museum that gives you the history of the art and the collector.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hershez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
199 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“What an amazing collection!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have visited all of the major museums in NYC, but this was our first experience at the Frick. We were familiar with the Frick Museum in Pittsburgh, where Frick had collected while still living in Pittsburgh. But when he moved to NY, he really became a world class collector. This collection was his taste and his money, and he used both well to create a very good collection in a gorgeous Fifth Avenue mansion. Not only is the art on the walls excellent, but his tables, desks, clock and decorative arts are all well chosen and well displayed Very nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave-Marilyn-15301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frick Collection also viewed

 

Been to Frick Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing