We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger on the Planet”
Review of Cinema Cafe

Cinema Cafe
Ranked #2,686 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Burger on the Planet”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Get ready! 2 of the best burger choices on the planet: Dry aged beef burger and/or a burger made from ground beef short ribs! Not for those concerned about cholesterol, but they have made the best or optimal mix of dry aged beef (or rib) with fat from the associated cuts and the taste is AMAZING. I put a slice of American cheese on mine, skip the onions, catchup and all that because they are so intense in beef flavors you don't want to ruin or mask the flavor. The french fries that come with it are very good. NOTE: They are not on the Brunch menu on the weekends but they will make them for you if you just ask.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    59
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
british columbia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A real surprise, and in the best way”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had trudged up 3rd Ave on a cold January early evening, thinking we could find a nice welcoming pub with atmosphere and good food. Not a chance - every place was heaving, loud and raucous.

We happened on this cafe and gave it a try. It looked welcoming and friendly, and we weren't disappointed. We were seated in a cozy corner, right underneath a bar heater at a corner window. Service was fast and attentive.

We both had burger options and a craft beer and thoroughly enjoyed everything. We both agreed the burger was one of the best we've had.

Pricing was also very reasonable. Highly recommended

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Our waiter greeted us, offered excellent advice on food and was prompt. I had the salmon and green beans. Perfectly prepared. A wonderful evening.

Helpful?
Thank waxrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't even think of going here!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went to this restaurant on a Saturday night in mid-December with a group of 6. We made reservations early (5:30) so we could have time for other venues that evening. We were the only table of patrons in the restaurant for the 1st 45 minutes, and there were some people at the bar.
The service was worse than terrible. We kept requesting the waitress to serve us and she kept coming over saying she would, but then disappeared????? She finally took our order at 6:10. Since we were the first table to place a food order, we thought we could be in and out quickly. No way! She brought the order out in bits and pieces and so we all had to sit there and watch our other table mates eat. More than half of us had to send our dishes back (raw burger, forgot the side dish that was part of the dinner, food cold, and on and on. We didn't get our drink order until half way through the dinner. Each time we had a complaint, the waitress disappeared. The waitress was at least smart enough not to add on the mandatory tip that should have been included for a group of 6 or more. We returned the favor by leaving no tip, which I have never, ever, ever done in any restaurant before. I was hoping that she would question it, but she didn't. Too bad. I would have loved to have given her a litany of our horrible evening, that lasted way too long in this hell hole of a place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great experience and value.”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is such a great find for New York City. Down the street from the empire state building. We had the best hamburger and French fries. They also offer a very diverse and eclectic menu at great prices and very hospitable service. Definitely going back next time we are in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinema Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cinema Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing