We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh expected more”
Review of 49 Grove

49 Grove
Ranked #590 of 866 Nightlife in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 49 Grove is an elegant, stylish lounge located in a prime downtown location. The lounge appeals to a sophisticated crowd seeking service, intimacy, comfort, and style. Conveniently located in a landmark building in the West Village, 49 Grove is ideally equipped for corporate events, holiday parties, cocktail receptions, and just anything else that involves a group of people getting together. We will gladly accommodate any size group with our turnkey, end-to-end services, we have full confidence that we can assist in coordinating your special event. Our lounge is segmented into four distinct rooms which enables us to service groups as small as 20 or as large as 400. The decor is reminiscent of a turn of the century private club with classic lines highlighted by dark woods and lavish fabrics. 49 Grove’s state of the art audio/visual system features large plasma screens, accent lighting and surround sound. 49 Grove provides a wide range of services for private affairs including open bar boasting one of the largest premium liquor bottle lists in New York City, hors d’oeuvres, and sit down dinners and buffet selections that will tempt event the biggest critic. We will gladly work with you to customize any bar and food menu to match your event’s theme. 49 Grove is committed to making your night a night your guests won’t forget. WHAT THE PRESS LIKES TO SAY ABOUT US Time Out New York--November 25-December 1, 2004 "Taking the decadence of bottle service to the next level…" Shecky's--December 15, 2004 "Big spenders will dig the subterranean upscale lounge…." Gotham--November 2004 "… impressive, fresh high-end…" UnCin--December 2004 "49 Grove is a elagant lounge, the stylish kind that all of us grownups have been craving downtown. The place appeals to a sophisticated crowed seeking service, intimacy, comfort and style." Social Life--December 2004 "An upscale lounge … fusing service, intimacy, comfort and style, reminiscent of yesterday catering to a sophisticated crowed." In New York--February 2005 " 49 Grove's candlelit staircase leads to an intimate oasis with signature 49 Grove cocktails." Razor--November 2004 "Enter 49 Grove, what is about to become Manhattan's hottest lounge. Opened in late October by "it guy" Aram Sabet (of the Hampton's restaurant Pacific East), 49 Grove has already caught the valuable attention of trust-fund babies and high-profile personalities. Why? Because this four room mecca is designed to pamper, with on-site personal security, limos and bottle service at your beck and call - along with some of the city's best food and European music." Time Out New York--February 24-March 2, 2005 "Aram Sabet, the owner of West Village nightspot 49 Grove, offers the usual bottle-service spread...But doesn't blink when asked to procure cigarettes, pizza, McDonald's meals, Chinese food, ice creams, burgers, eye drops, tampons, or reservations at hotels and restaurants in New York, Miami and Vegas…… Sabet paid for a stretch limo to bring me to his club - he uses a company called Billionare Travel Services - and politely removed a gaggle of gals from a bottle service area so I could experience the dual thrill of ousting plebes from a private section and then looking out at a crowd that no doubt wondered who the hell I was." Metro—November 19-21, 2004 "Painfully hip New Yorkers take note: Word on the street is that Aram Sabet's 49 Grove will be the new hotspot to score a spot on the guestlist. The swank West Village lounge features luxe bonuses such as on –call fleet of Maybachs, S-500 Mercedes and Range Rovers; a parked "smoking limo," where puffers can enjoy their cancer sticks in warmth and comfort; and a menu that has everything from mini Kobe burgers to Petrossian WHAT THE PRESS LIKES TO SAY ABOUT US Time Out New York--November 25-December 1, 2004 "Taking the decadence of bottle service to the next level…" Shecky's--December 15, 2004 "Big spenders will dig the subterranean upscale lounge…." Gotham--November 2004 "… impressive, fresh high-end…" UnCin--December 2004 "49 Grove is a elagant lounge, the stylish kind that all of us grownups have been craving downtown. The place appeals to a sophisticated crowed seeking service, intimacy, comfort and style." Social Life--December 2004 "An upscale lounge … fusing service, intimacy, comfort and style, reminiscent of yesterday catering to a sophisticated crowed." In New York--February 2005 " 49 Grove's candlelit staircase leads to an intimate oasis with signature 49 Grove cocktails." Razor--November 2004 "Enter 49 Grove, what is about to become Manhattan's hottest lounge. Opened in late October by "it guy" Aram Sabet (of the Hampton's restaurant Pacific East), 49 Grove has already caught the valuable attention of trust-fund babies and high-profile personalities. Why? Because this four room mecca is designed to pamper, with on-site personal security, limos and bottle service at your beck and call - along with some of the city's best food and European music." Time Out New York--February 24-March 2, 2005 "Aram Sabet, the owner of West Village nightspot 49 Grove, offers the usual bottle-service spread...But doesn't blink when asked to procure cigarettes, pizza, McDonald's meals, Chinese food, ice creams, burgers, eye drops, tampons, or reservations at hotels and restaurants in New York, Miami and Vegas…… Sabet paid for a stretch limo to bring me to his club - he uses a company called Billionare Travel Services - and politely removed a gaggle of gals from a bottle service area so I could experience the dual thrill of ousting plebes from a private section and then looking out at a crowd that no doubt wondered who the hell I was." Metro—November 19-21, 2004 "Painfully hip New Yorkers take note: Word on the street is that Aram Sabet's 49 Grove will be the new hotspot to score a spot on the guestlist. The swank West Village lounge features luxe bonuses such as on –call fleet of Maybachs, S-500 Mercedes and Range Rovers; a parked "smoking limo," where puffers can enjoy their cancer sticks in warmth and comfort; and a menu that has everything from mini Kobe burgers to Petrossian Conveniently located in a landmark building in the West Village, 49 Grove is ideally equipped for corporate events, holiday affairs, film premieres and screenings, cocktail receptions, wrap and after parties, photo shoots, fashion shows and birthday, engagement, wedding and anniversary fetes. As we will gladly accommodate any size group with our turnkey, end-to-end services, we can no doubt assist in coordinating your party. 49 Grove was designed with events in mind.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eh expected more”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

It was my buddy's 23rd birthday and he wanted to do something special. So we all chipped in for bottle service at 49 grove st, initially they were going to give us this great deal where we were getting a free bottle with the purchase of one seeing as it was our friends birthday and we had a big group of 8 people. But that all changed when we arrived, The person who ran bottle service said they could not offer us the deal, on top of that they placed our group all the way in the back corner of the club. While the DJ was playing some great music, overall I expected a lot more. In my opinion I wouldn't recommend this club to my other friends

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical NYC Lounge”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I went here on an outing of friends celebrating their birthdays. The music was good. But the venue was crowded and the place felt like a cramped basement at times. Even though the bouncer rushed us to finish our bottle he compensated by giving the ladies a free drink which I thought was nice of him.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank YvetteTA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 49 Grove also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to 49 Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing