We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, quick service, a bit dark but worth a trip”
Review of Tenzan II

Tenzan II
Ranked #5,306 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
261 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“good food, quick service, a bit dark but worth a trip”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

have eaten here several times because my adult kids love sushi (i don't do the raw stuff) and they say it's yummy...what brings me back is the tofu and vegetable soup which is delicious!!! seasoned perfectly, full of veggies (i don't eat meat or dairy) and fresh and tasty.

i love the cooked sushi as well, but the chicken teriyaki got a thumbs down from my son...as to the atmosphere, i find it a bit dark and that is not my favorite because i am not having an affair or hiding from the law :) i like to see my food!

the service is ok...swift and minimal interaction but they get the job done...give it a try :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lkrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
768 reviews
511 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is always good. They have great, affordable lunch specials. Service is friendly and attentive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service; reasonable sushi”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Generally good attentive service (although server kept turning away while our small daughter was trying to order her food). Sushi good.

Helpful?
Thank nickpharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Food, Great Service”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Ate at Tenzan with a friend for lunch the day prior to running the New York City Marathon. The service was outstanding with the server providing a balance of privacy and helping us with ordering. I had a chicken teryahi bento box, which included a California roll, Japanese pickles/radish, shumai, tempura, and chicken teriyaki. A salad with ginger dressing and a bowl of miso soup was served prior to the main dish. The amount of food was ridiculously huge, so I couldn't finish it. Everything was very fresh and well-presented.

Will return next time I'm in NYC.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RunningGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love sitting athe bar...”
Reviewed September 14, 2008

I love sitting athe bar at this place because of the comfortable seating. The food was original and very good. Hot sake was a great price and also pretty good. Great local place in mid-town east.

Helpful?
Thank TKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenzan II also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tenzan II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing