We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love Medieval History and Art...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Met Cloisters

The Met Cloisters
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Admission with Access to The Met Breuer and The...
Ranked #25 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Branch of the Metropolitan Museum of Art that was constructed out of sections of French medieval monasteries, offers an extensive collection of statues, paintings, stained glass windows and tapestries.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you love Medieval History and Art...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have visited the Cloisters twice and loved it both times. The gardens are beautiful and are planted with flowers and plants from the 14th and 15th centuries in Europe. There are lovely tapestries on the walls and artifacts dating back to 14th century France and England. There are also old windows and doors, jewelry, paintings and religious statues that date back to the 14th and 15th century.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,937
    925
    196
    29
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the long subway ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Cloisters has the goods. Even if you aren't particularly into medieval art (and I'm not) you can't help but be impressed by some of the work on display there. I was especially taken by many of the wood carvings on display and the gorgeous and intricate calligraphy in manuscripts that often took decades to complete.

The location itself is also really beautiful, and if I lived in the city I imagine I'd come out three or four times a year just to hang out in the herb/vegetable garden that is tended similar to those in monesteries centuries ago. That garden is likely the most peaceful place on Manhattan Island. Loved it and highly recommend The Cloisters.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robbo-the-Yobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good collection of European Medieval art in a lovely setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good collection and well displayed, organized, good signage. Not too huge (like The Met) nor too small (like the Folk Art Museum in NYC). If you love Medieval artifacts from Europe (like me) this is a must-see. The only thing that would make it better would be if it was IN Europe. As it is, however, it's a either a bus ride to the front door or a subway ride (a must-do in NYC anyway!) and a walk through a beautiful park (Fort Tryon) with spectacular views of The Hudson River.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
179 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What an oasis of beauty in the city. We have traveled extensively in some parts of Europe and have visited countless churches and cathedrals. The genius of the cloisters is in purpose building a "new" (75 year old) church from salvaged architectural elements and art from churches around Europe. The collection is impressive and the setting in a park on a bluff overlooking the river far away from midtown is equally impressive. We very much loved the herb gardens and various cloisters. In more than 30 years of visiting New York this was our first visit to the cloisters. I will definitely return again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank klsalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took a bus and it was a long ride! But was worth it! Small museum but lots of beautiful things to see! My daughter loves unicorns and the had a special display with the unicorn tapestries! She loved it! Would go again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TBBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Met Cloisters also viewed

 

Been to The Met Cloisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing