We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun to Browse”

The Annex / Hell's Kitchen Flea Market
Ranked #325 of 1,077 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Browse through attic-loads of old stuff, from fishing rods to crocodile handbags, in these two market sections.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fun to Browse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I thought this would be a fun thing to do while visiting New York and since it was close to my hotel I walked over on a Saturday morning. My first impression was “I could make so much money here. My junk is way better than theirs!” I guess I expected things that were more antique like, despite the fact it says flea market in the name. Maybe I’ve seen too many episodes of Flea Market Flip! But it was still fun to browse and I eventually found some interesting things and even bought something. I could have easily bought a couple of other items, but succumbed to the restrictions of my suitcase. Perusing the Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market is fun and something that’s off the beaten tourist path. I’d definitely return. Who knows, next time I might find a special keepsake of my trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    52
    41
    20
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanatoga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cold But Fun Bargain-Hunting In Hell's Kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

NEW YORK NY - Toward the tail end of March, a point on the calendar when New York City visitors might hope Mother Nature would start to warm things up, the winds can still briskly whistle through the west-side streets of Hell's Kitchen. Unless the sun filters just so between the neighborhood's mid-height skyscrapers, it remains a time to wear heavier sweaters or light coats and gloves to go junk shopping.

That may be one of Hell's Kitchen's best-known attributes: junk (or, if you prefer, "junque") of value to collectors, seekers of the odd and the vintage, decorators, fashion mavens, and just plain folks who delight in a bargain. You'll find a wide assortment at the Hell's Kitchen Flea Market, which operates throughout the year (weather permitting) on Saturdays and Sundays only from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at W. 39th St. between 9th and 10th avenues.

The flea market regularly is a hopping place during the spring and summer, when those seasons lend themselves to more tourists, hours-long leisurely strolls, and lighter, casual clothing. National Geographic magazine claims the market at its busiest is one of the world's 10-best shopping streets. Although fewer vendors appear in colder weather, about 40 were out hawking their wares during a March 23 (2013) jaunt ... enough to make the trip interesting.

Lower temperatures can be a benefit. They inhibit those who come out to shop, and as a result tend to force prices down and encourage sellers to engage in a bit of haggling. That's helpful because this is still New York, and prices for almost any item tend toward the higher range, its condition or usefulness not withstanding.

The street is blocked off, and there's no traffic to contend with. Vendors set up in an impromptu way, fostering an almost bazaar-like atmosphere. The haphazard manner in which stuff-filled boxes and crates are strewn about also prompts a lot of lingering-and-fingering by people curious to know the contents of any given pile.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Zlomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTROSE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saturday morning flea market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed our time there. Everyone found something they wanted including silver charms, cashmere scarves, bags, boots, and even a canvas tarp and antique dustpan.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“lots of kitsch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The stallholders were scarce because it was midwinter, but what was there was fun and varied. We did get two nice pashminas for a good price.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun shopping in Manhattan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My sister and I stumbled upon the Hell's Kitchen flea market while on a recent pleasure trip to NYC. What a terrific surprise! Cheap, cheerful, and funky stuff! What a great break from the madness of holiday time in the city. I will be sure to visit the flea market again when I return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Annex / Hell's Kitchen Flea Market also viewed

 

Been to The Annex / Hell's Kitchen Flea Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing