We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Whitney Museum of American Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.00*
and up
Whitney Museum of American Art Admission
Ranked #16 of 271 Museums in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Whitney Museum of American Art, founded in 1930 by the artist and philanthropist Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney, houses the foremost collection of American art from the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Mrs. Whitney, an early and ardent supporter of modern American art, nurtured groundbreaking artists at a time when audiences were still largely preoccupied with the Old Masters. From her vision arose the Whitney Museum of American Art, which has been championing the most innovative art of the United States for more than eighty years. The core of the Whitney's mission is to collect, preserve, interpret, and exhibit American art of our time and serve a wide variety of audiences in celebration of the complexity and diversity of art and culture in the United States. Through this mission and a steadfast commitment to artists themselves, the Whitney has long been a powerful force in support of modern and contemporary art and continues to help define what is innovative and influential in American art today.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I visited the museum in mid-September, when the Kusama retrospective and Fireflies on the Water were on exhibit. Unfortunately, several other galleries in the museum were closed. I believe we were told this was to accomodate an upcoming move or transfer of collections, but there was no reduction in admission fees even though a good portion of the museum was off-limits. Although the Kusama retrospective was worthwhile, the Fireflies timed passes were all gone when we arrived, so the end result from a purchasing standpoint was to feel rather over-charged for the experiences on offer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlevaksilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney_Staff, Manager at Whitney Museum of American Art, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback. I’ll be sure to pass along your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,305
    651
    252
    98
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shambolic!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

So you've travelled over 3000 miles to see Hopper at the Whitney. You visit and there is a long queue so you go away and come back another day to find ...another long queue. You decide to join it. After a wait of some time where the queue did not appear to move at all, someone waves a piece of paper at you. It informs you about an exhibition that you are not remotely interested in seeing. You explain to the person waving the paper that you do not want to see the exhibition, just the permanent collection. In the small print on the paper it explains that much of the permanent exhibition is closed (I couldn't see anything large at the front of the Museum stating this). You then suggest that as you only want to see what is left of the permanent collection, there should be no need to queue. The clear logic of this fails to impress the representative. You try to wave your expensive New York pass (which you had picked up four days earlier and says of the Whitney: 'the finest such collection in the world, include works by Hopper ... are always on view...) which has enabled you to skip queues at all other establishments but not at the Whitney. Eventually, after much fuss, you are allowed in to what is left of the permanent collection. After 15 minutes, where you are the only people in the gallery, you're finished, and without the fuss you would have had to queue for much longer than this. Poor communication and information, poor organisation, poor value for money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank meddleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney_Staff, Manager at Whitney Museum of American Art, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for your feedback. I’ll be sure to pass along your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A disappointment for out of town visitors”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went there early September to see the art which is advertised in all major tour guides. Obviously we should have studied the website. The museum had been COMPLETELY emptied of its permanent collections to create space for exhibitions, maybe not a problem for a New York-er but certainly for a European visitor .
Of the three exhibitions only the one of Yayoi Kusama was interesting, I did not like, but I understand. The two other ones ie Sharon Hayes and a thematic one (Signs and Symbols) were mediocre.
We wasted 32$'s.
In addition opening hours are restrictive ie 36 hours per week, almost the French 35 hour week. We could also not see Fireflies on the Water by Kusama, sold out at 12 o'clock.
SKIP and go to Documenta in Kassel or to the Venice bi-annual.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bartolomeus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney_Staff, Manager at Whitney Museum of American Art, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback.

Unfortunately, we don't have control over listings in tour guide publications, but due to building renovations, the fifth-floor permanent collection galleries are closed until late 2012. Therefore, not all of the Whitney’s iconic works are on view at this time.

The restrictions for Fireflies on the Water (one person at a time, for one minute) were per the artist’s wishes. With the one-minute time limit, we can only accommodate a maximum of sixty people per hour, and entry tickets tend to sell out quickly.

I’ll be sure to pass along your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Exhibit But Disappointing Gift Shop”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We visited to see the Yayoi Kusama exhibit which was wonderful in every way. Unfortunately we were unable to view the Fireflies on the Water portion as it was already sold out during our visit. But we very much enjoyed what we did view. The gift shop was less than average in comparison to other museums we have visited.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank iluvjada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great, but why open at 1pm on Fridays?”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

i had to queue for over an hour to get in - to open at 1pm makes no sense - still, good museum with fabulous display space and the Kusama installation called Fireflies on the Water was particularly interesting - the Sharon Hayes exhibition is very interesting too

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frannie_Rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitney Museum of American Art also viewed

 

Been to Whitney Museum of American Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing