We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interactive, Free, Adult & Child Technology”
Review of Sony Wonder Technology Lab - CLOSED

Sony Wonder Technology Lab
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to this technology center learn about audio, imaging, robotics, design and network through interactive exhibits, and are directed through the experience by "b.b. wonderbot," a telepresence robot.
Loudonville
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interactive, Free, Adult & Child Technology”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

On a rainy afternoon during Memorial Day weekend, we (8 adults & 3 children: 4, 8, 10) spent two delightful hours wandering through the maze of interactive (robotic surgery, tv studio, recording studio) activities displayed at this free technology center open to the public and aimed at its curious and eager audience/participants. The Sony Building is located in midtown Manhattan on Madison Avenue, between 55 and 55 Streets on the west side of the street; and there is a convenient indoor plaza with a couple of coffee bars with food items as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chezjoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    66
    42
    19
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worthwhile little attraction”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked 3 months in advance as advised. Also ensured that we were there on time (9 a.m.) as instructed and was told that if we were late our spot would be given away.
Lot of fuss considering we were the only ones here for most of the 90 minutes we visited Sony.
There was a large school group coming in when we left so I'm glad we did come when we did.
As for the attractions inside the kids (age 6 and 9) really enjoyed the place. We did see the 30 minute movie on animation and had the theater to ourselves.
I think it's a one time visit. I wouldn't go back again a 2nd time but glad we went the once. I can see it not being much fun if it's busy as most attractions take a bit of time and there are only 3 stations for each game.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Free Entertainment for the Kids”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I agree with most of the other reviewers. I don't think we would have paid to visit this attraction. It was fun entertainment for my kids (ages 10 & 13) for about 1 hour. There are many hands on games and tech experiences. You must call in advance to get a time to visit. They were very strict on not letting us line up for admission until our reserved time. We were not able to participate in every experience there, because the wait time would have been too long (20 mins for one activity). We all got a certificate at the end of the experience showing what activities that we participated in. Overall, a good experience!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travelky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“fun and free”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this free attraction by calling the sony wonder lab a few weeks prior to our visit. Best thing about the tour is that it is free. There was a bit of a wait to load guests on the elevator and tour starts from the 4th floor that makes its way down to ground level. The attractions include various activities such as editing a music track. Disappointingly, some of the kiosks did not work or there was a long wait as others took their time causing a backlog. It is a good way to spend an hour with kids or if you like techie activities.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank roadtripjunkie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take your kids here”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Teenagers will love this place. It's very interactive and have video games to play. It was interesting and FREE!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sony Wonder Technology Lab also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing