We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #235 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Chose this Hotel on location & price, I wasn't disappointed, comfy beds helpful staff, clean hotel that's all I required as I wasn't planning to spend much time in my room.
location was great, close to Soho & cabs are everywhere, no idea about the breakfast as that didn't interest me...recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
It is so great to hear that our hotel met your needs while you were in NYC. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor to assist future travelers. I am glad you were able to enjoy the great neighborhoods around the hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    483
    128
    23
    19
See reviews for
254
399
84
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, A Very Nice Hotel ...Just in between China Town and little Italy in Manhattan!

Good room sizes......friendly staff........besides Jeffery at front desk, everyone else was just great and very helpful!!

very clean place, small but reasonable & included breakfast...... Good location.....walking distance to subways and many many restaurants...

Highly recommend!


happy travelling

Room Tip: ask for higher floors or rooms facing backyard....busy street and construction happening in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Repeating many of the other posts, there were positives and negatives
PRO: Very friendly staff, clean, free breakfast, close to a subway stop, comfortable beds, relatively spacious rooms for NYC, room was not ready when we arrived early so they stored our bags while we ventured out into the city.

CON: filthy streets, construction everywhere, no parking (2 out of the three lots nearby were full; the third, luckily had openings for $39/day), very thin walls so you can hear everyone in the halls, the smell of fish from the streets prevents opening the windows, no view/filthy windows from construction outside, no place to pull up in front of the hotel to unpack unless you pull on to the sidewalk.

Typical Chinatown sights, sounds and smells. Fish stalls on the streets from hotel to subway are very interesting but the smell can be overwhelming. We enjoyed our stay but would not stay here again due to the location.

Room Tip: Ask for at the end of a hallway to avoid people walking past your room at night or early morning. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poipoi29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor to assist future guests in planning their travels. We do appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed our hotel. The location is certainly not for everyone. There is an option to use the Canal Street subway station, that is a few blocks further away, but walks you through SoHo and Little Italy instead of the fish markets by the Grand Street station. This location does lead itself to amazing fresh fruit and fantastic restaurants of many different cultures. We do recommend a parking garage a block and a half from the hotel on Chrystie Street and Hester that offers a discount of $35 for our guests, that our staff is happy to provide directions too. Many guests do unload in front of the hotel, but is does need to be done quickly while there is one lane of traffic due to construction. The construction will be completed in July 2014, which will assist with unloading quite a bit. We do appreciate you staying with us and are sorry to hear that you will not be returning.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 10 days. I was there for a wedding in Little Italy and for site seeing. The hotel was in a great location for all of my activities. I loved being able to walk everywhere. The entire staff of the hotel was incredible. I have never been treated so well. They were informative, funny and very warm. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TandMSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review our hotel. I will certainly share your kind review with my team. They are a wonderful group of people that truly enjoy working in hospitality. Our location is great for walking and seeing so many wonderful neighborhoods that NYC has to offer. Please come stay with us again soon!

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177'
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We just returned from a seven-night stay in NYC. We needed to be near Little Italy for a wedding, and chose this hotel because of the reasonable price and Trip Advisor reviews. The hotel is quiet, for a large hotel, and was very clean. Great shower and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and there was a very clean patio to eat in. The best part of our experience here was the staff. They were friendly, helpful, and answered all our questions about directions, subways, etc... We want to say "thank you" to Jeffrey, Sean, Hugh, and Melissa, for making us feel at home, and treating us so kindly. We would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
I am so thrilled to hear about your wonderful stay with us. I am so proud of my team and all they do to provide personalized service to our guests. I will certainly celebrate your comments with them. Our location is certainly great to be close to Little Italy. I hope you were able to enjoy the great food and shopping in the area. It is great that you were able to enjoy breakfast on the outdoor patio too. Thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for many reasons. The location was fun, the morning breakfast was convenient, our room was clean and spacious, but what really stood out was the employees. They were so friendly and helpful-especially Jeff! We had a great stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We appreciate your very kind review of the Best Western Bowery Hanbee hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and took advantage of our location in the NYC neighborhoods. I will certainly share your review with my team and especially Jeffrey. We look forward to you next stay with us.

All the best,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in between Chinatown and Little Italy. If you are a foodie, you will enjoy it coz there is lotsa restaurants, bakeries and deli's around. Hotel is one short block from the subway station. Staff is friendly. The only weak point they have is the small breakfast area given the volume of guests they have and the elevator that was constantly out of order. Otherwise this hotel was of good value. Just check if the road construction is done before you book

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annabanana70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I am so glad to hear you were able to enjoy the amazing restaurants around the hotel. The food is amazing and diverse in this area. I am glad to hear the staff took great care of you. Our patio is open for breakfast currently and really allows a more relaxed breakfast experience. We did have issues with our elevator that has proven to be a bigger issue than originially thought. We are in the process of having it correctly permanently. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#303 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Chinatown
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
#198 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#185 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#78 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#254 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Financial District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Do...
#190 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Best Western + Iniative, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing