We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
U.S. Pacific Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
World Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Sohotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NobleDEN Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Windsor Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Nolitan Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Leon Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveler rating
499
625
181
35
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
625
181
35
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand streetlittle italynew yorkbagelsmake your own waffleslower east sidefree breakfasteast villagehard boiled eggsthe breakfast areasubway stationwithin walking distancebrooklyn bridgefront desk staffking suitehotel is locatedtwo blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

There is nothing hugely wrong with this hotel, but nothing great about it either. Rooms are clean and fairly modern, while an average NY size (i.e. small). Reception area is cramped. I didn't like the location - too far from useful subway lines and an instantly forgettable part of the city. Its on the edges of chinatown and close to little italy, which are interesting areas to see for an afternoon but you don't really want to stay there if you have an option.

Move the hotel a few blocks west and it'd be a good option.

The main negative about the hotel was there was significant street construction work going on outside in the middle of the night - this was very noisy and led to very poor sleep. The hotel isn't a mid-town hirise, so there was really no escaping the noise. This isn't the hotel's fault, but it didn't make me want to rush back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably better to escape street noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We do appreciate your feedback about our hotel, so future guests can make an informed decision about where they stay. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and the unique NYC neighborhood experience our hotel is located in. The underground construction (the noisy overnight project) is scheduled to conclude March 2014. We hope you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

this place is a good deal. the room was clean, with a very comfortable bed. The personnel was very helpful, even at 1:00 AM. The breakfast was OK, although not a miraculous. Overall, very good experience and would book it again if heading to the same area.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank JaryMachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel and taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Bowery Hanbee for 4 nights before Christmas. Excellent location--centrally located next to Little Italy and Soho, close to subways, accessible to every type of ethnic food imaginable. I researched thoroughly and chose this hotel because of the little bit of extra space in our double room. The extra 25 sq ft made the space for our family of four much more manageable. Total area 300 sq ft., above norm for rooms in NYC. We appreciated the spaciousness of the bathroom, with heated floors! Loved the fact that there was a window in the bathroom so we could get fresh air to circulate into the room. Loved the free breakfast! Don't know why people complain about the quality of breakfast--available items included hot oatmeal, whole fruits, cereals, hot eggs and a different type of breakfast meat daily, breads i.e. bagels/English muffins, Danish and bran muffins, and coffee/juice. Any other hotel would charge $12+ for continental breakfast. There is a street cart right at the corner for whatever you crave! My kids felt safe walking around the shops and to the subway. Only wish they had a larger closet--it was a free standing wardrobe. Also, the outside noise could not be helped because of constant construction. But we were so exhausted at night we didn't hear it. Weekend rates a little higher than weekdays, average $160 per night. Loved Hugh and Jeffrey for their excellent service! Fabulous stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your research on TripAdvisor. I find our rooms a good size compared to most Manhattan hotels. I will certainly share your feedback with my team, especially Hugh and Jeffrey - they are amazing! We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Reasonably priced; easy access to subway; walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, the rest of the LES....what more could you ask for? Oh wait...the staff - Jeff, Sean, Hugh, and everyone else were friendly, responsive, and generous with helpful information; complimentary breakfast offered a great deal of choice; the rooms were clean and comfortable. Be aware, though, that there is a city construction project underway right by the hotel.
For those flying into EWR and travelling light, the easiest and cheapest way to get to the hotel would be by Airtrain to NY Penn Station ($12.50 one way), then any subway ride (downtown) to W4th Street station, where you can transfer to the downtown B or D Train. Get off at the Grand St. stop and walk a block west across the Bowery to find the hotel. Alternatively, you can just take a cab from NY Penn Station to the hotel (Bowery & Grand); the cab ride will cost approx. $12-15 depending on traffic conditions. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for an "inside" room (not facing Grand St. or the Bowery) to avoid construction/traffic noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OakONResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. You provided great helpful hints for our future guests. I will certainly celebrate your comments with my team. We appreciate your feedback, so we can focus and improve on what we do well. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stay regularly in NYC and enjoy the Best Western Bowery Hanbee hotel for its excellent value and great location near Little Italy, Chinatown, SOHO, and subway stations. The hotel has free breakfast and excellent free high speed internet. A great place for either business or vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Jdude919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We appreciate your review and choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay!

All the best!

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews