We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel yes, location not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #267 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel yes, location not”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The price was, for New York, reasonable. We didn't care for the location and looking at the map it appeared to be more toward Little Italy than Chinatown. It's really more between Littly Italy and Chinatown. Easy to get a taxi on the corner though and the Italian restaurants a short walk. Hot breakfast everyday was enjoyable and much more than just pastries and juice. There was also fresh hot coffee 24/7 in the lobby! A little noisy from the street but that's to be expected in the big city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvasteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your candid feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and staff. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
212-925-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    569
    162
    31
    29
See reviews for
330
456
93
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Everything was wonderful except for the booking car that show the overall price is $62 included tax, toll and tip (we needed to deposit $10 at the front desk) the two front desk (Ryan & Nathan) confirmed twice that we didn't need to pay more but when the driver dropped us at LGA airport he insisted us to pay $72 because his company said so and even we showed him the contract, he ignored. We were very frustrated and disappointed. We wanted to warn everyone to be careful because you may need to pay more unexpected.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your time at our hotel. The experience you had with the car service is unacceptable. I did speak with them and do feel that their customer service is not in line with our philosophy. We are investigating a new partner and will be changing service prior to the end of the month. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention so we can address it promptly. We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lylte
General Manager
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
212-925-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel, and once again it did not disappoint. It is located in Chinatown, a few short blocks from Little Italy, and a two block walk to the subway (B/D lines). There are lots of interesting restaurants and shops in the neighborhood, and while busting with activity during the day, tends to quiet down a lot at night and is a nice break from the madness of midtown if you are planning on spending any time there.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, and the front desk staff friendly and helpful. They are always great about arranging a ride to the airport if you don't want to deal with the subway. The room, while not particularly spacious was OK sized by Manhattan standards. The bed was comfortable and I slept well, and the bathroom was good sized and made completely out of tile.

I only rated the hotel four stars this time for two reasons:
1. We were given a room on the fifth floor this time directly facing Bowery Street. (Our previous stay had us on the ninth floor facing an alleyway.) There was quite a bit of street noise during the day as a result. Fortunately, my husband and I are sound sleepers therefore it wasn't really an issue but it was definitely something noteworthy.
2. The bathroom was drafty and cold. Walking barefoot across the floor was like walking on ice.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertgirlmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us another time. We really appreciate you selecting our hotel and taking the time to review the hotel. I will certainly congratulate my team on what they are doing well.

We appreciate the note that if you are sensitive to noise to reserve a room with one queen bed (they are on the back side of the building overlooking our outdoor patio) and requesting a room on a high floor.

I apologize that you found the bathrooms cold. The bathroom floors are heated. It is great to turn them on prior to getting in the shower, so they are nice an warm when you get out of the shower and are getting ready.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
212-925-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

First the only bad thing I can tell you about this Hotel: It is in the middle of Chinatown, smelly and dirty sidewalks. I did not liked the location, not one bit. Also, the street is under construction.
Other than this the place is great, feels new, very clean and spacious. On the plus side, the subway is just a block from the door. Staff was great too.

Room Tip: The street is under construction, get a high room to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaluPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words about the staff and property. The location is not perfect for everyone. We appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
212-925-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I wanted a hotel in New York close to a subway station that would take me to the shows and musuems in upper midtown as well as the sights of lower Manhattan. I selected this hotel based on good reviews and because Best Western has a decent reputation, at least in other countries.

The hotel has many positives. The rooms are ample with decent furnishings and decor. The rooms were cleaned very well and the rooms are quiet (dual glaze windows.) The service is excellent... the staff responded instantly to requests we made about the room such as slow sink drainage, more pillows, etc. The complimentary breakfast was good by American standards with everything from bacon and eggs to oatmeal and waffles that you can make yourself.

Also, the hotel is just two blocks from the J,Z subway station on Bowery that will take you to Brooklyn and the airport at JFK (45 minutes), and about 6 or 7 blocks from the 4,5,6, Q,R,N subway station on Canal that will take you down to Battery Park (4-5 stops away) or up to midtown or uptown through Grand Central Station (about 10 minutes). There are plenty of good Italian and Chinese restaurants in the nearby neighborhoods.

But the hotel has some negatives. The neighborhood was not attractive when we were there. (Night time street construction left fencing and other materials in the street all day and the hotel is near open air Chinese markets.) The hallways are a bit drab and the breakfast room is furnished on the cheap.

Having said all this, it was still a bargain in New York where a comparable hotel in Midtown would cost so much more. If you want to see the shows in Times Square or the museums around Cental Park, you can still do so reasonably and regularly from this hotel with the subway system. Just plan on about a 20 minute ride to Times Square.

Some tips. Try Ferrara's bakery (two blocks away) for authentic Italian gelato and pastries, Baltazar's restaurant (a few blocks northwest in the Soho) for a great New York experience (recommended in Travel and Leisure magazine), and Katz deli ( a few blocks northeast) for a classic deli treat.

Finally, an alternative to this hotel would be the Holiday Inn near Canal Street and a few blocks west of this hotel. They are the same class hotel but the Holiday Inn is closer to the subways and appears to have better reception and breakfast rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for the very detailed reviewed of our hotel and your experience in NYC. We appreciate you staying with us. I will certainly share your kind words with my staff. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in New York.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
212-925-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully located if you enjoy the diversity of being in Chinatown and right next to Litte Italy, and not very far from interesting restaurants. Also only two short blocks to the subway.

Rooms are average size, so our two queen room was very cramped, although the bathroom is large and there is an adequate workspace. The small room meant you could only watch TV from the bed! Not comfortable for me.

The desk was knowledgeable with recommendations for dining, and always pleasant. It is greatly overpriced for the size and amenities of the room, but this is New York City, I guess. Not much fairly priced around, perhaps.

Our irritation was that they were working on the water main right under our window (and the whole 9-story side of the hotel) and the jackhammering began at 10:00 pm and continued throughout the wee hours. Not the hotel's fault, but I feel a discount should have been given. The day before, the water was shut off and full maid service cancelled! I guess we were lucky.

Breakfast was better than average for a Best Western, although nothing fancy. Despite jackhammering, the room was well insulated against normal street noise.

I would probably not go here again since there must be better options for the price. Also, the staff said I could not apply my stay for customer loyalty points since I had reserved through Otel.com. That was new to me and not sure it is accurate. If so, it weakens Best Western's loyalty program, as they are not usually competitive with travel sites!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmarKhayyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and staying with us. We do appreciate the positive feedback, so we can continue to do the things we do well.

The water main project has certainly been a struggle with no notification when they will be using heavy equipment. Fortunately it is not very often. We apologize you were inconvenienced by the water shut off. This is the first time in the year and a half project the water has been shut down. Thankfully it was for only shut down a short time and although we notified guest of possible light housekeeping, we were able to provide complete service to all the rooms that day.

Best Western Reward points, as with other hotel and airline point programs, are not earned for stays booked through intermediaries. Reservations must be booked through BestWestern.com, 800-780-7234 or with the hotel direct to receive reward points. Best Western offers best price guarantee, so you will find the same price, where ever you book your room reservation.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney beach
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It's not easy finding a NY hotel with 2 queen beds, in a good location and in an affordable price bracket. The Best Western ticks those boxes. If you are a family or friends who are happy to share 2 queen beds, it's perfect. I really liked the location..Chinatown and Little Italy are always vibrant, it feels completely safe, the subway station is super close, and on a good line. You can find something to eat such as take away, gelato or you can dine in just steps away in the bustling Little Italy area (super busy on Friday and Saturdays, great vibe) I loved the front desk staff. Sean who checked us in filled my expectations of a New Yorker with his happy 'gotcha' responses! Hugh was thorough, patient and full of advice. Beds, linens, pillows all nice quality. We were on a high floor so heard very little of the street construction noise that others referred to. The outdoor breakfast area is a nice spot in good weather. You can stop looking...just go there, you won't be disappointed, particularly given the value.

Room Tip: We did face the construction work but on 9th floor heard little.Not sure anywhere in NY is very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keats11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of the Best Western Bowery. We are so pleased you stayed with us and enjoyed your time with us. Sean and Hugh were thrilled to see their names in your review. They are truly amazing! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
212-925-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#212 of 467 in New York City
582 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#47 of 467 in New York City
253 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#185 of 467 in New York City
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#245 of 467 in New York City
357 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Property: Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#188 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing