We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay, and getting better with each visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #264 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a well-run, very clean, very comfortable hotel. However, it's not for everyone. It is in the middle of the bustling Chinatown area which, coupled with the extensive construction on Grand St., can make for extremely crowded sidewalks. But once you pass over Elizabeth Street to the westor Bowery to the east, it all opens up again.

We had a King suite which is amazing. Huge is an understatement. Two TVs, a large sitting area which is really another room, good size bathroom with shower and tub. The king rooms do face Grand so it can be noisy on the lower floors. We were on the 9th and it was fine. The bed is one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in - good pillows, nice sheets and bedding, towels in the washroom are soft and plentiful.

The staff is excellent and very helpful.

The only downside I can think of is the breakfast but, hey, you're getting breakfast! The eggs and sausage are mediocre at best. The baked goods are OK but after sitting out for a few hours they could be fresher.

My suggestions for improvement....have the waffles premade in a chafing dish. It takes 3 minutes to prepare one waffle so if there are 4 people ahead of you (which is common during busy times) you are looking at standing there for 12-15 min for a waffle. Second...get a quality Nespresso coffee machine. They used to have a machine that did a fairly good cappucino and hot chocolate. The machine they have now serves very mediocre coffee and nothing else.

All in all, we loved our 3rd stay and would not hesitate to return again and recommend this place to our friends.

Room Tip: If you want a king suite, go for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We appreciate you staying with us at the Best Western Bowery and taking the time to share your thoughts on the hotel and area. Thank you for continuing to return to our hotel. The team at this hotel are turly amazing and I am thrilled to share your comments with them. I appreciate your feedback on breakfast. It is definately a focus area that we are always looking for ways to improve it. We will look at a better way to work the waffles, their demand certainly goes in cycles. Best Western has changed their coffee standards to use the Arabica coffee that we serve, my apologies that you do not care for it. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We bid Lower East Side on Priceline and got this hotel in Chinatown. It's close to the subway and it's walking distance to places like the Tenement Museum, or Katz's Delicatessen. The room was very large, and so was the bathroom. Breakfast was surprisingly good! This is a very good value hotel. The only downside for us was that the room did not get completely dark at night, even with the curtains closed, because light would come from the bathroom into the bedroom through a window on the top of wall dividing these two rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raquel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Bowery. We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us. Your review is a great way to share your recommendations with future NYC travelers. The Tenement Museum is something everyone should see! Katz Deli is certainly a wonderful NYC experience too. We look forward to your next stay in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

All what I expected for an hotel where I sleep only. Clean, great service, quiet and the same breakfast than I got in other Best Western, including a waffle machine! Close to Little Italy and great restaurants, 2 minutes of subway station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge_G_SAGUENAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

So glad to hear that we lived up to your expectations at the Best Western Bowery. Thank you for taking the time to write the review on our hotel. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Family and I stay at this hotel in July.. we had 3 room types, one king bedroom, one king suites and one 2-queenbeds room.. all rooms were surprising spacious for NYC.. i have stay in hotel in NYC chinatown before and we barely able to walk into the room let alone room to move about.. but this hotel is great.. on the king suites.. theres 2 tv.. one by the bed.. and one for the sitting area.. so no fighting over tv.. it also has a fridge, micorwave and a dinning table and sofa..
breakfast could be better thou.. very crowded.. on a nice day we could sit outside which is ok.. but food runs out very quickly..

staff were very helpful..

ice machine and vending machine is only avaible on 5th and 7th floor. which i do tend to stay away as it can get quite noisey.. we stay on 8 and 9th floor.. which is quiet enough.. cant hear any traffic..

only down side is that in the 2 queen bedroom.. its shower only.. bath tubs only in king room or king suites..
bathroom floor can heat up so its nice and warm when out of the shower,.. which i think its awesome

Room Tip: stay away from low floors as its very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bbkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for selecting to stay at the Best Western Bowery for your NYC trip. Your review was a great overview of our hotel and will assist future guests to select the best hotel for their needs. I have shared your comments with my staff so they can continue to provide excellect service to our guests. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel after making a 3 star “Lower East Side” Priceline bid of $154/night on July 23 & July 24. This was below the rate if we booked directly with the hotel, something I confirmed as soon as my successful bid.

This hotel is a 1 block walk from the B/D subway lines at Grand street in lower Manhattan.

You enter the hotel at street level on Grand Street then go up the elevator to the second floor. Signs guide you thru this process. On the second floor at the front desk you check in. There is also a small lobby area and a mid size area for their deluxe continental breakfast that is complimentary with your stay. There is also a 2nd floor outdoor sitting area. A security system in the elevator requires a room key to get beyond the 2nd floor to the guest room area.

We arrived earlier then normal check in time, about 1:30PM and our room was ready so they let us check in early with no issue. We found the front desk staff to be welcoming, friendly and helpful.

This hotel is at the edge of China Town in Manhattan. They gave us simple walking direction to Mulberry Street. It’s a short walk to Mulberry Street and Little Italy where small Italian restaurants are plentiful.

It was hot during our stay. Next to the front desk the hotel staff set up a large clear round glass water dispenser with ice and fresh lemon wedges, a nice welcoming touch to help quench our thirst.

The room we stayed in had beautiful hard wood floors and was generous in size. This was a handicap acceptable room. The hotel was sold out, they were turning away walk-in traffic and trying to recommend other hotels in the area. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. The bed had four nice fluffy pillows and a large flat screen TV.

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel .

Did you find this review helpful? If so please click on the “YES” below. Thank you.



.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelVlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We are sincerely grateful for your review and sharing so many details about your stay with us at the Best Western Bowery. Your review will be very helpful for traveler planning a trip to NYC. It is so wonderful to hear that you took full advantage and enjoyed the area. This area give you the true flavor of NYC. We look forward to your next visit to come and stay with us again.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Best Western at Grand and Bowery in New York City. We were there from July 23 to July 27. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much.

I will admit that I originally thought that having no lobby on the ground level was a bit strange, given my experience with every other hotel I had ever stayed in, but just five minutes with the noise and smells of the street explains why a hotel would not want to be opening its main doors to that every other minute or so.

We had a King bed room. The room was typical in size for a New York City room, but was well appointed and the bed was very comfy. I was surprised by the lack of a chest of drawers in the room, but there was a suitcase stand in the armoire, so there was a place to put at least one of our suitcases. the other we had to keep on the floor.

Instead of a duvet and duvet cover, the bed had sheets, a fleece blanket and a nice cotton waffle-weave outer cover. This gave us a number of blanket combo options that you just can't get in a "sheets and duvet" style room.

The air conditioning unit in the room kept the room comfortably cool but was loud, and I think that was the only real problem I had with the room, but it was not a significant enough problem to warrant a complaint. We did not hear any noise from any adjoining rooms, so that was good.

The washroom was very nice, decorated in a two-tone tile scheme that was sophisticated and very chic. I particularly liked that we had a shower and not a bathtub. The only real drawback to the bathroom was that it did not have a vent fan, so after one of us had a shower, the bathroom was a little steamed up. We did have a bathroom window which opened a bit, and this allowed the steam to escape. The downside of having a bathroom window right at the corner of Grand and Bowery was that it was as bright as daylight all night long in the bathroom, so we had to keep the door to the bathroom closed at night.

And speaking of being right at the corner of Grand and Bowery, the noise from outside the room went on all night long. This however, is not the fault of the hotel, although it would have been a nice touch to have more sound-muffling windows. I understand that the construction on the road will last for at least another three years or so. There are metal road plates right on Grand in front of the hotel and every time a car or truck drives over the plates, they make noise, so that goes on almost non-stop. Furthermore, it seems like the crews working on this water-main project were on the job 24 hours a day. I could hear jack hammers at three o'clock in the morning. If noise is a problem for you at night, you should request a room that does not face either Grand or Bowery. I imagine it isn't easy to find a sound-proof hotel in New York City.

We found the people who were working on the front desk to be friendly and polite and knowledgeable about their city, and were very willing to give us pointers and advice on how to get where we were going. They also arranged a car to take us to the airport in Newark on the morning of our departure.

In the morning there was a breakfast room which had a wide variety of foods available. Two waffle makers kept people who like waffles happy, and there was also a commercial-style toaster with a variety of breads and rolls to toast, as well as a slow cooker full of porridge on hand. For those with a sweet tooth there were several different types of danish pastries on offer. There were sausages and bacon, scrambled eggs, as well as dry cereal and milk. Over at the beverage counter there was coffee (both caffeinated and de-caf) as well as hot water and a variety of tea bags. Juice was also available. The coffee and tea was available all day, not just at breakfast, so when we came back to our room for a bit of relax before heading out again, we could help ourselves if we wanted. Cold water with lemon was also available after breakfast. That's a nice touch. Including breakfast with the room is a good idea: this likely saved us at least $30 every day.

At the front of the lobby area there was a lovely relaxing lounge overlooking Grand, and on one side of that were two computers for the guests' use and also a printer that could be used as well. We had our coffee in the lounge one morning, and watched people going by on their way to work.

The hotel is well situated for sight-seeing in lower Manhattan, as well as Chinatown and the delightful Little Italy, where we ate almost every meal. The hotel is close to subway stations just a short block east of Grand and Bowery and also on Canal street. Both of these stations will get travellers just about anywhere in the city, including north to Times Square and shopping districts, depending on the train selected. The area is also very well serviced by public transit busses, and of course, taxis are everywhere.

Mulberry Street in Little Italy is filled from one end to the other with Italian restaurants and bakeries. We ate many memorable meals there. On Fridays and Saturdays during the summer months Mulberry is closed to car traffic and the street is one big party zone. We had such a great time walking up and down the street talking to people and taking it all in. As well as regular restaurants, there are three vegan/vegetarian restaurants in the neighbourhood too.

All in all we thought this was a great hotel: the room was pleasant and comfy (if a little loud), the breakfast was great, it was geographically well-situated and the staff was wonderful.

Would we stay at this hotel again? Absolutely we would, and we will, because we are already talking about our next trip to New York City.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that does not face Grand or Bowery. I always ask if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank torontorita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Bowery. We appreciate your very detailed review of our hotel. You provided great information about all aspects of your stay which will be very helpful to future travelers in selecting the best hotel for their needs. As an additional note about the street noise and light from the bathroom window. The street side rooms do have double paned windows to reduce the street noise and we do have earplugs and white noise machines avaiable at the front desk at no charge for those sensitive to noise. We can also black out the window in the room from the bathroom updon request. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Bowery the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went on vacation with my two boys. The staff was very helpful and courteous (special thanks to Hugh and Jeff), the rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was good, not different from any other hotel i have stayed. It took me a few days to get used to the surrounding but it was Chinatown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We appreciate you selecting to stay with us at the Best Western Bowery. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about Hugh and Jeff. We have certainly shared your comments and celebrated them at our daily staff meeting. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#223 of 469 in New York City
594 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#406 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#218 of 469 in New York City
395 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#334 of 469 in New York City
569 reviews
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#253 of 469 in New York City
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $144 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing