We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #267 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We made a tour in the USA and ended this by staying 6 nights in this hotel. The room was perfect. Great location nearby bus stop and subway station. No problems at all to walk through Chinatown even at nights. Staff was kind and helpful (thank you Hugh). Breakfast was ok.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank euxanthine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us at the Best Western Bowery and providing the review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind words about Hugh. I have shared your comments with Hugh and the entire team. We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    567
    162
    31
    29
See reviews for
329
456
93
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel itself appears adequate, everything seems clean and in good working condition, however, the location just did not work out for us. It's located in the heart of Chinatown, not very pleasant streets to walk around. Even though it's not far from Little Italy, and about 10/15 minutes walk to Soho, you still have to navigate the streets of Chinatown before getting anywhere. If you should take your car there , both parking and driving in that area are nightmarish. The location was just a big turn-off.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not appreciate the neighborhood we are located in. It is certainly not for everyone. Parking and driving is challenging in lower Manhattan. Public transportation is better for this area. We wish you all the best.

Sincerely,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@interstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel was one of the best three star hotels that I have ever stayed in. The staff were always polite, professional, and knowledgeable of any matter that we approached them for. Once we arrived to our room, we were happy to see that the room was spacious, clean, modern, and bug free! The only small complaint we had about the room was that we were not able to control the A/C in the room and at times the A/C would make the room feel uncomfortably cold. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with towels; though there was a little bit of mould on the window sill from the water that landed there after a shower. One of the best surprises was the buffet breakfast that the hotel provided. We thought that it would be something simple, these breakfasts though, were always a feast that every day we all had something new. The location for the hotel is perfect for all the touristy attractions in the city. We walked down to the ferry docks and were only 15 mins/20 mins by subway from Times Square or Central Park. Also if you love Italian food there is a plethora of Italian restaurants in "Little Italy" and there are loads of Chinese restaurants in Chinatown. The only bad thing with the location, was the smell from the Chinatown markets, but you got used to it after a few days of being there. I spent over three hours researching hotels in New York and the surrounding area and when I came across this hotel and saw all the positive reviews I took a blind chance and booked it. It was one of the best finds I've ever had online and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anybody interested in visiting New York.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper rooms if possible. There is a lot of street noise down below, but you'll hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silzia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Best Western Bowery and taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel, staff and area so much. It was so wonderful to share your comments with my staff. You really took advantage of all the amazing things NYC has to offer. We look forward to you staying with us again the next time you are in New York City.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is located right smack in the middle of Chinatown. Little Italy right around the corner. Hotel was room was very large, clean & comfy. We had the King room suite with microwave & fridge. A must when staying for an extended period of time. Staff was friendly, helpful, & courteous. Hotel has great security. Explore the markets in the area.Great location for site seeing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Best Western Bowery. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the location. It is so close to wonderful restaurants and shopping. The king suite is a great room with the microwave and fridge for the left overs too. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed here for a night back in September, and my experience was OK but really nothing special.

I'm a Best Western Diamond member but did not get any special treatment. Received the most basic room type, and I believe it was room 907.

The room was small (though expected for NYC). The shower was pretty good, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable (and I'm not that picky). The room also smelled rather musty.

Breakfast was alright.

Service was OK.

For the going price of this hotel I might consider other options before returning here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cober6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, so we can improve. I have been managing the hotel since March and was not here during your stay in September. We have totally enhanced our breakfast adding hot eggs and breakfast meats, as well as a rotational menu and outdoor patio seating. We have had great comments on these improvements. We also ensure all Reward members receive a welcome snack. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will try us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We love to roll the Priceline dice.. this time, my winning bid brought us to Chinatown. (We use Priceline/Hotwire exclusively for hotels and always always write reviews.)

This hotel was okay. The area is Chinatown, so yes, there are rats on the street late at night as the other reviewer said. The street sanitation isn't that great, so you get all the smells that go with the fish vendors and all that. It's a convenient location, though. The Grand Street subway stop is just two blocks away. Canal Street isn't far.

Our room was very clean. It was right next to the staff room, so we heard banging doors early early One other annoyance: they give you exactly two bath towels, two face clothes, two hand towels. No extra. It's a basic room. The flip side, they have a generous breakfast offered free, including fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, waffles, eggs, etc. All in all, it was fine for what we paid for it.

There was construction in front of the hotel when we stayed but we heard no noise associated with it.

very nice front desk staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineMcMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We appreciate you staying at our hotel and taking the time to review it. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the location and all the ethnic diversity it has to offer with the great restaurants and fresh produce vendors. It is certainly not for everyone. I do appreciate your feed back about the staff noise. I will certainly discuss it with them and ensure we watch the noise from doors and speaking, especially early in the day. We will also review our linen counts in our rooms to make sure there is enough linen in the rooms to make for a comfortable hotel stay. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We first stayed in this hotel a few years ago and it was OK, roll on to now and it feels like the whole place has gone downhill.
The good points - the staff are very friendly and professional, the location is great for lower Manhattan.
The rooms however are very drab, grubby, noisy. Our first room was beside the lift, vending machine, ice machine and looked onto the air con unit for the whole hotel outside, impossible to sleep. Our second room was higher but looked over a main busy road. There is no escaping the air con systems in any room.
The hotel itself is also suffering from roadworks at the front of the hotel which take place during the night. Breakfast - OK but gets very busy and there are not enough seats for guests to have a table.

Room Tip: Ask for as high as possible, at the back of the building, in the centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEDBUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel, so that we can improve for future guests. I will certainly celebrate your kind words about the staff with them. With the hotels hardwood floors, neutral colors and modern design, we typically receive positive comments on our rooms, if you can provide some specific details, we would certainly like to address them. Each guestroom has its own Heating and Air Conditioning and is not as quiet and the central air unit that are found in most homes. The nice thing about them is the ability to control the individual room temperature. We are always happy to look at any units that seem to have excessive noise. As in any big city, those sensitive to noise would not enjoy staying in the city. We do have ear plugs and white noise machines available at the front desk. We appreciate your feedback so we can improve our hotel.

Sincerely,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#210 of 467 in New York City
582 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#44 of 467 in New York City
253 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#186 of 467 in New York City
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#235 of 467 in New York City
357 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#397 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Property: Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#188 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing