We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #244 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Budget!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in china town, close to a subway station and its dead easy to get uptown from there. But if you're looking for a 'nice' location to stay in, this aint it! Theres a very stinky market stall right next to the hotel meaning every time you walk out the door you gasp in the smell of rotting fish. That said its only a 10 min walk to soho where there are great restaurants and shops.

The street is pretty noisy and there are road works being undertaken at the moment. We had to ask to move the first night because the windows aren't great. The staff are very nice and helpful but moved us to a room with the noisiest heating system I've ever heard. Take earplugs.

Advise if you stay here don't bother with breakfast. It gets you some food but its pretty poor quality and you eat it out of plastic bowls / plates and cutlery. And your crammed into the tiniest most horrible breakfast space I've ever seen!

It's not too expensive for New York overall but if I were you I'd pay a little more and stay in a nicer area with better quality facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for you helpful review. We, as a hotel pride ourselves on our unique and culturally diverse location which is on the border of Chinatown and Little Italy. We are also in the process of sound proofing all of our windows so the noise from the city that never sleeps won't affect our guests. During the warmer days the hotel will be opening a new outdoor patio for our hot breakfast buffet so our guests can enjoy it under the warm sun.

Very warm regards, Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    527
    148
    25
    23
See reviews for
295
429
89
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We found this hotel was extremely convenient to visiting Chinatown, Little Italy, and Soho in walking distance. It's actually in Chinatown and really close to the subway station for catching the B and D trains so you can maneuver around the city fast. Recommend getting snacks or breakfast across the street: coffee is good and the pastries are tasty, not too sweet and have lots of simple things as well as interesting variations. There's breakfast at this hotel, but we never went, we preferred to go around and try dim sum around Chinatown (highly recommend it) or get coffee and pastry and any of dozens of little shops all around. Also there are good bagels just four blocks away at Kosser’s bagels. And good doughnuts at the Donut Plant just five blocks away. Amazingly, just that 10 minute walk, the neighborhood totally is different.

The room was small but clean and well-lit, and the bathroom reasonably sized. No bathtub, though, just a very tidy shower. The décor is simple and straightforward, the bathroom looks like Ikea ,and the room had a wardrobe crammed in to the corner: a tight fit to unpack. The reception area is upstairs, again, everything kind of feels crammed in, but it is all really efficient and well-kept and clean. For example: the check in process had a line that moved fast-- we initially groaned when we saw three people in front of us, but the staff is fast and courteous. I think we waited 5 minutes or less. That said, they forgot to put the baby crib though we called ahead for it, but it came about an hour after check-in. We also asked for extra towels and these came more promptly. Towels are nice and big, if not particularly fluffy. The bathroom products are nothing fancy, but smell pleasant, and are fine. If you don't like them, there's tons of convenience stores in the neighborhood or Duane Reade (which is the NYC CVS or Walgreens) all over the city.

The bed is a decent night's sleep, and after a day of walking all over the place, you look forward to a clean, even if tiny room, and a comfy bed. In terms of security, the hotel won't let you go up the elevator to the guest floors without an active card, and the neighborhood is pretty lively, so even late at night, there are lots of people around--felt pretty safe. The front desk is really good about arranging a car service to the airport, the car came on time and we loaded up for the airport pretty fast. Our flight was at 7.25 AM. Newark apparently is pretty close but costs a little extra because of tunnel tolls and going out of state. We got there in 20 minutes. It probably goes without saying that we didn’t get rental car, it’s very easy to get around on the subway and bus, and since the subway is a 3-minute walk from the hotel, it’s a good location.

There is some repair work going on the street: we never heard anything and doesn’t seem particularly disruptive. The location is a fun expedition in to one of NY’s more colorful neighborhoods with quick access to anywhere else in the city. There’s also a street food cart at the corner and we got chicken kebobs as a snack, super-yummy and cheap. I left my hat on the subway and nearby is “Canal Street,” kind of like a street bazaar, and I got a new one for five bucks. I think other posts said they thought this hotel is expensive, but you have to ask, “relative to what?” NY for hotels is expensive anyhow, and if you’re going for a clean, well-located room that doesn’t totally break the bank, it’s going to be small and not going to be really stylish. If you come to NY to hang out in your hotel, this is not necessarily your place. But if you come to enjoy the city and shower/sleep comfortably for another unforgettable day, and you can get that here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
One of the greatest experiences you can have visiting our hotel and our great location is the wonderful restaurants. We have the best Chinese food you can find in Manhattan and the hotel is just 2 blocks from Little Italy where the authentic Italian food wil make you feel as though you are dining in Italy. Just 2 blocks to world famous Canal Street Market where you can find wonderful boutiques and shops for all your shopping needs.

We know as a hotel the most important service we can provide is a clean, comfortable and safe room for you to rest your head after a long day of walking.

We appreciate your wonderful review and cannot wait for you to come visit us again soon. Fondly, Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Staff here are all very good and helpful; rooms are clean, comfortable and modern, and the location makes for a different experience of New York being right in the middle of Chinatown. Best of all, the bed was comfortable (I really resent paying to sleep in a bed that's worse than my own!). Breakfast was adequate: best avoid the pastries but everything else was tasty enough.

Tip for eating locally - don't wander into Little Italy and allow someone to tempt you in from the street as we did. Worst meal of my life but unfortunately I can't remember the name of the restaurant.

Only downside of this hotel is the lack of decent views from the windows. But what you get for the cost otherwise is good.

Room Tip: The higher floors are better and inward-facing are quieter than street-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_steady_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We realize that the number one priority is for your hotel to be clean and comfortable. Our goal is to create an experience that would remind you of your home away from home. We strive to have the very best staff who can help fulfill every guests need and surpass expectations.

We understand what our guests need and want for a great visit to New York and we work extremely hard to make that happen.

All the best, Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were in NYC for one night stay. We normally stay at BW in Southport but Hurricane Sandy put it out of service. This was our alternate BW choice. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous both at check in and check out. The location was great for our planned walking tour from the hotel to MakerBot to Mario Battali's Eataly for dinner finally to the Regal Cinema theaters on 42nd Street. There's a B Line subway station less than a block from the hotel on our return from
Time Square. The room had an updated decor but limited storage. The one major distraction was caused by the NYC Streets & Sanitation Dept. They thought it necessary to start jack hammering the street at 10PM to make some repairs. Be advised, there is a lot of street repairs going on the streets around the hotel! The too pricy comment is due the room costing $250+ but adding taxes pushes it over $300/night. The cost per value does not warrant an extended stay.

Room Tip: There's no floor that can avoid the street noise, especially when they are running a jackhammer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We use each review to better the experience of our future guests. We want every guest to have a quiet and comfortable room during their stay so the hotel is in the process of upgrading our windows to sound proof glass. In addition, we have very competitive rates and we are usually priced lower than our competitors which is amazing because we offer so many complimentary amenities like Free Hot Breakfast, Free business center printing and fax services and Free WiFi included!

We strive to provide outstanding service and a friendly atmosphere. Our location is very convenient to the subway system which can take you anywhere you need to go in New York City. We hope to see you again, please call me directly for a "Trip Advisor Rebooking Deal"

Sincerely, Dawn Marie Klisures/ Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its location, which is only 3 minutes walking from the train (subway) station. The B-D line in this station would take you to most of the attraction sites (shopping centers on 34rd street, 42nd street, Times Square, Central Park, etc). It will also take 7-10 mins walking to Soho, where you can find quite some fashion stores as well. However, if you really want to be in the center and can walk to the fashion districts, I'd not recommend this hotel. You can book another in mid-town for $25/night more (I used to book one and then cancelled because my friend recommend to stay in Chinatown).

The 2nd best thing about the hotel is the bathroom. It's clean, water is hot, strong and the bath space is quite roomy. At the end of the day, I think a good shower is what you really really need.

The bed is quite comfortable, I could get some really good sleep here. Overall, I do not really have any complains. I did not need any help from the staff but I saw them helping other guests quite enthusiastically.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side are quieter, since they're having construction on the streets. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments and for taking time from your busy schedule to write your review. We are very proud of our hotel, especially our service and our wonderful location. We are between Little Italy and Chinatown, just minutes away from SoHo, the Lower East Side and the Village. The new Ground Zero Memorial is just a mile away.

After a long day of sightseeing and walking aroung the Big Apple, the best thing anyone can use is a long warm shower and a very comfortable bed.... 2 things that you are guaranteed here at the Best Western Bowery Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

All the best, Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Not wanting to spend a fortune for our 2 nights in NY, we made reservations at the Bowery Hanbee and were very happy with the choice. Don't be put off by the one person who recently wrote a negative review. This hotel is staffed by friendly, helpful people. The rooms are clean and of adequate size. The location, though not mid-town, is on the edge of Chinatown, easy walk to Little Italy and Soho. Some great restaurants in these areas. Easy access to subways. Desk staff ready to print out directions to anywhere you want to go. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, streets can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tscrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are so thankful that you have taken the time to write us a review. One of our goals is to make your NYC experience as stress free as possible. The staff is here to help you navigate the city easily and to create a warm and friendly experience for all our guests. With Little Italy and SoHo minutes away, there we have hundreds of amazing restaurants to experience....A true culinary adventure.

We are looking forward to welcoming you the next time you visit the Big Apple, please call me to reserve! Cheers~ Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I don't even know where to start. My team and I were so excited to come to NY to compete but never imagined to be treated so horribly by hotel staff. We were the first team to arrive and we were immediately treated like children and were threatened. It all started off with one of the employees barging into our room without knocking and kicking us out. The manager was very rude to us and was always yelling at us. None of the hotel staff were friendly. One of the workers grabbed water out of a teammates hand and threw it on the floor complaining that she just mopped the floor. We were not even allowed to talk at a normal level and always had to whisper out of fear hoping they wouldn't throw us on the streets like the first time. The hotel knew many months before that many teams were coming to stay at the hotel for a competition and informed us that the teams were gonna be blocked off from the rest of the guests staying at the hotel, but instead the hotel decided to put every team on a different floor. We barely were in the hotel but when we were we were treated like animals. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. We cooperated when they had complaints because we are not disrespectful people, but the way they treated us was unacceptable, period.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymous60950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing