We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but too pricy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #263 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were in NYC for one night stay. We normally stay at BW in Southport but Hurricane Sandy put it out of service. This was our alternate BW choice. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous both at check in and check out. The location was great for our planned walking tour from the hotel to MakerBot to Mario Battali's Eataly for dinner finally to the Regal Cinema theaters on 42nd Street. There's a B Line subway station less than a block from the hotel on our return from
Time Square. The room had an updated decor but limited storage. The one major distraction was caused by the NYC Streets & Sanitation Dept. They thought it necessary to start jack hammering the street at 10PM to make some repairs. Be advised, there is a lot of street repairs going on the streets around the hotel! The too pricy comment is due the room costing $250+ but adding taxes pushes it over $300/night. The cost per value does not warrant an extended stay.

Room Tip: There's no floor that can avoid the street noise, especially when they are running a jackhammer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We use each review to better the experience of our future guests. We want every guest to have a quiet and comfortable room during their stay so the hotel is in the process of upgrading our windows to sound proof glass. In addition, we have very competitive rates and we are usually priced lower than our competitors which is amazing because we offer so many complimentary amenities like Free Hot Breakfast, Free business center printing and fax services and Free WiFi included!

We strive to provide outstanding service and a friendly atmosphere. Our location is very convenient to the subway system which can take you anywhere you need to go in New York City. We hope to see you again, please call me directly for a "Trip Advisor Rebooking Deal"

Sincerely, Dawn Marie Klisures/ Director of Sales / 212.925.1177

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its location, which is only 3 minutes walking from the train (subway) station. The B-D line in this station would take you to most of the attraction sites (shopping centers on 34rd street, 42nd street, Times Square, Central Park, etc). It will also take 7-10 mins walking to Soho, where you can find quite some fashion stores as well. However, if you really want to be in the center and can walk to the fashion districts, I'd not recommend this hotel. You can book another in mid-town for $25/night more (I used to book one and then cancelled because my friend recommend to stay in Chinatown).

The 2nd best thing about the hotel is the bathroom. It's clean, water is hot, strong and the bath space is quite roomy. At the end of the day, I think a good shower is what you really really need.

The bed is quite comfortable, I could get some really good sleep here. Overall, I do not really have any complains. I did not need any help from the staff but I saw them helping other guests quite enthusiastically.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side are quieter, since they're having construction on the streets. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your candid comments and for taking time from your busy schedule to write your review. We are very proud of our hotel, especially our service and our wonderful location. We are between Little Italy and Chinatown, just minutes away from SoHo, the Lower East Side and the Village. The new Ground Zero Memorial is just a mile away.

After a long day of sightseeing and walking aroung the Big Apple, the best thing anyone can use is a long warm shower and a very comfortable bed.... 2 things that you are guaranteed here at the Best Western Bowery Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

All the best, Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Not wanting to spend a fortune for our 2 nights in NY, we made reservations at the Bowery Hanbee and were very happy with the choice. Don't be put off by the one person who recently wrote a negative review. This hotel is staffed by friendly, helpful people. The rooms are clean and of adequate size. The location, though not mid-town, is on the edge of Chinatown, easy walk to Little Italy and Soho. Some great restaurants in these areas. Easy access to subways. Desk staff ready to print out directions to anywhere you want to go. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, streets can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tscrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We are so thankful that you have taken the time to write us a review. One of our goals is to make your NYC experience as stress free as possible. The staff is here to help you navigate the city easily and to create a warm and friendly experience for all our guests. With Little Italy and SoHo minutes away, there we have hundreds of amazing restaurants to experience....A true culinary adventure.

We are looking forward to welcoming you the next time you visit the Big Apple, please call me to reserve! Cheers~ Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I don't even know where to start. My team and I were so excited to come to NY to compete but never imagined to be treated so horribly by hotel staff. We were the first team to arrive and we were immediately treated like children and were threatened. It all started off with one of the employees barging into our room without knocking and kicking us out. The manager was very rude to us and was always yelling at us. None of the hotel staff were friendly. One of the workers grabbed water out of a teammates hand and threw it on the floor complaining that she just mopped the floor. We were not even allowed to talk at a normal level and always had to whisper out of fear hoping they wouldn't throw us on the streets like the first time. The hotel knew many months before that many teams were coming to stay at the hotel for a competition and informed us that the teams were gonna be blocked off from the rest of the guests staying at the hotel, but instead the hotel decided to put every team on a different floor. We barely were in the hotel but when we were we were treated like animals. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. We cooperated when they had complaints because we are not disrespectful people, but the way they treated us was unacceptable, period.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank anonymous60950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Enjoyed the Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel. The best was the customer service. The excellent staff more than make up for the fact that this is not a full-service hotel. The rooms were clean, large and modernized. The prime location on the corner of Bowery and Grand was perfect if you planned to spend time in lower manhattan. Less than one block from Little Italy, few blocks away from NOLITA and several blocks away from great restaurants in the Lower East Side. Tremendous value. Great place. Only negative is paper thin walls.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luisa1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

So, landed here on a business trip and not sure where I saw it - but, it said Little Italy. Yes and No. Little Italy is 2 blocks away...this is pretty much China Town as you would agree by all the storefronts that surround the hotel. The hotel is clean. The breakfast is what you would expect for a free breakfast....basically the same thing you find at any Courtyard, Hampton Inn, etc. One word of caution however - they advertise a gym. This is no gym. It's a treadmill, elliptical and bicycle....1 of each. So, if you have a preference and somebody is on it...you're SOL which happened to me at 6am in the morning. It's a shame too b/c it sits next to a huge unused rooftop....oh the possibilities. Overall, if you need a place to stay closer to downtown for a fair rate - this is good enough...

Oh, one more thing - I was entrance side and it was a tough going with construction through the night...ask about that....

Room Tip: See review. It was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

family of 3 with a teenager son, 2nd time staying here, cost about $200 (with tax) per nite for double room in Nov 2012, rooms are well maintained and clean, good toiletry. great value for money if you want to stay in Chinatown area.

my son purchased something on-line and the delivery was delayed after our check out. one of the hotel staff (forgotten his name, a very helpful and genuine gentleman you will not miss him) told us he can accept the parcel for us (hotel was fully booked during the black Friday weekend and we are staying at another hotel), we can pick it up from him later before we leave New York.

what makes this experience special is that there was another staff, who was following the hotel policy strictly, he said "once you check-out, nothing on computer that can verify and track, you must inform the courier to change", and then there was a lady manager on duty who over-rule him and said "no problem, we will accept your parcel". It is the people who make the difference between the good and the bad, keep up the good works.

another tip - I was using booking.com for this hotel, the site is not so user friendly - 1. not able to help extending my stay over the weekend, I guess their hands are tied, 2. booking confirmation did not include the taxes and nothing much was mentioned, other booking site hotel.com includes weather, things to do around the area. etc

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jt2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 469 in New York City
1,580 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#259 of 469 in New York City
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#198 of 469 in New York City
3,437 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 469 in New York City
4,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $147 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing