We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ALL YOU NEED AT A REASONABLE PRICE!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #244 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ALL YOU NEED AT A REASONABLE PRICE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Not wanting to spend a fortune for our 2 nights in NY, we made reservations at the Bowery Hanbee and were very happy with the choice. Don't be put off by the one person who recently wrote a negative review. This hotel is staffed by friendly, helpful people. The rooms are clean and of adequate size. The location, though not mid-town, is on the edge of Chinatown, easy walk to Little Italy and Soho. Some great restaurants in these areas. Easy access to subways. Desk staff ready to print out directions to anywhere you want to go. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, streets can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tscrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are so thankful that you have taken the time to write us a review. One of our goals is to make your NYC experience as stress free as possible. The staff is here to help you navigate the city easily and to create a warm and friendly experience for all our guests. With Little Italy and SoHo minutes away, there we have hundreds of amazing restaurants to experience....A true culinary adventure.

We are looking forward to welcoming you the next time you visit the Big Apple, please call me to reserve! Cheers~ Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    527
    148
    25
    23
See reviews for
295
429
89
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I don't even know where to start. My team and I were so excited to come to NY to compete but never imagined to be treated so horribly by hotel staff. We were the first team to arrive and we were immediately treated like children and were threatened. It all started off with one of the employees barging into our room without knocking and kicking us out. The manager was very rude to us and was always yelling at us. None of the hotel staff were friendly. One of the workers grabbed water out of a teammates hand and threw it on the floor complaining that she just mopped the floor. We were not even allowed to talk at a normal level and always had to whisper out of fear hoping they wouldn't throw us on the streets like the first time. The hotel knew many months before that many teams were coming to stay at the hotel for a competition and informed us that the teams were gonna be blocked off from the rest of the guests staying at the hotel, but instead the hotel decided to put every team on a different floor. We barely were in the hotel but when we were we were treated like animals. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. We cooperated when they had complaints because we are not disrespectful people, but the way they treated us was unacceptable, period.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymous60950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Enjoyed the Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel. The best was the customer service. The excellent staff more than make up for the fact that this is not a full-service hotel. The rooms were clean, large and modernized. The prime location on the corner of Bowery and Grand was perfect if you planned to spend time in lower manhattan. Less than one block from Little Italy, few blocks away from NOLITA and several blocks away from great restaurants in the Lower East Side. Tremendous value. Great place. Only negative is paper thin walls.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luisa1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

So, landed here on a business trip and not sure where I saw it - but, it said Little Italy. Yes and No. Little Italy is 2 blocks away...this is pretty much China Town as you would agree by all the storefronts that surround the hotel. The hotel is clean. The breakfast is what you would expect for a free breakfast....basically the same thing you find at any Courtyard, Hampton Inn, etc. One word of caution however - they advertise a gym. This is no gym. It's a treadmill, elliptical and bicycle....1 of each. So, if you have a preference and somebody is on it...you're SOL which happened to me at 6am in the morning. It's a shame too b/c it sits next to a huge unused rooftop....oh the possibilities. Overall, if you need a place to stay closer to downtown for a fair rate - this is good enough...

Oh, one more thing - I was entrance side and it was a tough going with construction through the night...ask about that....

Room Tip: See review. It was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

family of 3 with a teenager son, 2nd time staying here, cost about $200 (with tax) per nite for double room in Nov 2012, rooms are well maintained and clean, good toiletry. great value for money if you want to stay in Chinatown area.

my son purchased something on-line and the delivery was delayed after our check out. one of the hotel staff (forgotten his name, a very helpful and genuine gentleman you will not miss him) told us he can accept the parcel for us (hotel was fully booked during the black Friday weekend and we are staying at another hotel), we can pick it up from him later before we leave New York.

what makes this experience special is that there was another staff, who was following the hotel policy strictly, he said "once you check-out, nothing on computer that can verify and track, you must inform the courier to change", and then there was a lady manager on duty who over-rule him and said "no problem, we will accept your parcel". It is the people who make the difference between the good and the bad, keep up the good works.

another tip - I was using booking.com for this hotel, the site is not so user friendly - 1. not able to help extending my stay over the weekend, I guess their hands are tied, 2. booking confirmation did not include the taxes and nothing much was mentioned, other booking site hotel.com includes weather, things to do around the area. etc

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jt2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Should you need an affordable hotel convenient to Chinatown and Little Italy, then this hotel is affordable. Should you need thoroughly clean and not stinky hotel room, then move along- both the dreary and grubby furnishings, bedding and rank shower curtains made it barely bearable to sleep as was the noisy room right next to the elevators. The staff were nice, but forgetful even after asking twice for the shower curtain to be replaced. I give this place a 5 out if 10.

Room Tip: Just make sure your not near the elevators !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimchi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
240 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I booked rooms at the Best Western Seaport Inn, but because of Hurricane Sandy, we were 're-routed' to this hotel. This trip to NYC was a Christmas present for our 17 year old granddaughter, so we had two rooms. My husband was upgraded to a very nice suite and our granddaughter and I had a double queen room. The rooms are very nicely appointed with comfortable beds. Easy to access and free WiFi comes with the room. We had a problem with the TV, (loose connection), and a technician was up to fix it in a matter of minutes. The continental breakfast is just fine. The were no bananas left by the time I made it down, but the lady on duty came back to me in about 5 minutes with one. She may have run out to the fresh fruit market just across the street to get it. We loved the location for several reasons, one having a subway station close. If you do plan to stay here, ask for a room opposite any streets. The hotel is located on a very noisy intersection and there is construction going on. The noise at night is almost unbearable. We stayed here four nights and I didn't get any restful sleep. The only way I would make reservations at this hotel again, would be if I was assured of having an "inside" room away for all the traffic noise and yelling down below.

Room Tip: Books rooms away from street side. On the rating scale, there was not a N/A choice for the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing