We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #271 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Worst hotel experience ever. Had to stay here for a competition where we experienced RUDE hotel staff that threatened to kick us out every night we were there. They also threatened to have the police escort us out. The manager was VERY unfriendly and didn't consider our circumstances. She was constantly yelling at us and got extremely mad when we ordered pizza after a long night of competing. Also another hotel employee had treated one of my teammates very rudely by grabbing water out of her hands and throwing it on the floor. We got side remarks from a couple of employees but mostly the manager. We were barely in the hotel but when we were there we had to be sure we were whispering,scared that we would get kicked out in the cold with no where to go. A lot of money was spent on this trip,coming all the way from AZ and not having that much money. We were hoping to make the best of the stay and enjoy ourselves but it overall just left us stressed and we deeply regret staying there. As guest we were not getting equal treatment and that is why I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn Marie K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Greetings 123ua and thank you for your feedback!

We pride ourselves on the excellent service that we provide to our guests. We understand that your dance competition brought everyone a high level of excitement but there are hundreds of other guests that need to sleep at night and they were unable to since many of your group members were extremely loud from 11:30 PM to 5AM. In the future to avoid problems, I suggest that you warn the next hotel about the anticipated late night noise level so they can try to give you a private area or a designated floor of the hotel. Best Wishes!

All my best, Dawn Klisures - Director of Sales - 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    539
    154
    26
    28
See reviews for
302
436
92
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I have visited New York several times and I must say that the price/per night that we paid to stay at this hotel was not worth it!! For an extra 50$ we could have booked a room on Central Park. Thank goodness the rooms were "clean" but not a very quiet area. They also happened to be doing some construction work on the main street of the hotel-so basically no sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very pleased with Hotel!Perfect location,with
Extremely clean rooms.Heated floors in bathroom is a nice touch.Also liked the wood floors in room,eliminating carpeting ,which are difficult to keep clean.I feel like I got my money's worth,which is not always the case in NYC.
This is my new hotel destination when traveling to NYC.


  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbird59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in November. It's in a great location, really close to Bowery and Grand Street subway stations between China Town and Little Italy. We got the airtrain from JFK airport then the subway to Bowery station then walked a few blocks to the hotel. The journey took around 1hr 30 mins but it wasn't too bad.
We had a Queen Room on the 8th floor and it was adequate for our needs. You can hear slight noise from outside traffic but its to be expected in a large city. After a day or two you get used to it. Noise also travels along the corridor outside and you can hear people coming and going.
Breakfast in the morning was great and there was loads of choice. Bread, pastries, muffins, various types of eggs, sausages, yoghurts and fruit, juices and tea and coffee etc. Breakfast was served from 7am - 10am every day. We made the mistake of going around 9am on our second day and pretty much everything had gone. When I asked if I could have a yoghurt or a banana I was told they had all gone because of the sheer number of people and there was no more. So we tended to go earlier around 8am and had no problems.
Staff were helpful proving information about the local area and maps etc. You can store your luggage at the hotel on checkout for 5 dollars as well.
On the website it say there's a gym. Its on the 10th floor and consists of 2 pieces of gym equipment! You literally step out of the lift into the gym! As we did plenty of walking on holiday I didn't need to use it. Can't imagine it gets too busy though if you did want to use it.
Will definately stay here again when I visit New York. It is only a few stops away from Times Square and Central Park on the subway. It was clean, tidy and everything we wanted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian in California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I went there on business, but I would stay there again on business or pleasure. The rooms are huge, clean and modern. The staff is friendly and the breakfast has everything (OJ / Wheat bagels / warm waffles, porridge ). The location is in a funky area Chinatown / Little Italy and close to the subway.

All in all - Great & highly recommended.

Best,

Rebecca

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlot2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We only stayed 1 night here on September 27 2012, but could not fault it.

The staff were so friendly, helpful and polite. The room was clean and the bed was way more comfortable than the soft mattress we copped at the Intercontinental the next night - at twice the price too!

The price paid relative to the service received (& throw in the breakfast too) makes this a 5 star experience.

In terms of the area the hotel is located in, if you don't like the grime & chaos of a Chinatown-setting, maybe it isnt for you, but subways are closeby & fruit marketeers are on every corner. I had the best vege-dumplings I've ever eaten too, a few blocks south - 6 for $2.50! Unbelievabe value!

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor to avoid the road noise created by trucks going over those road covers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed 4 nights........great location between China Town and Little Italy ...... rooms really nice, very clean and beds are comfy......amazing restaurants around the corner in Little Italy, close to subways, soho, greenwich village and financial district.....we could walk everywhere in that area and take the subway to midtown Manhatten.....did alot of touring around and felt safe....great mini vacation......will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaSally7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#318 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#285 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing