We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$188
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$262
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$459
$359
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$409
$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$232
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$351
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$263
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,371)
Filter reviews
1,371 results
Traveler rating
500
625
181
35
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
625
181
35
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand streetlittle italynew yorkbagelsmake your own waffleslower east sidefree breakfasteast villagehard boiled eggsthe breakfast areasubway stationwithin walking distancebrooklyn bridgefront desk staffking suitehotel is locatedtwo blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 1,371 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Clean hotel, well located in china town and only couple of blocks from soho. Breakfast is bit boring and not very healthy but rather typical to US standards. There is no fridge in the room, safe is inconveniently placed on the floor of the cupboard. There is very little place to store belongings. Bathroom is simple but OK. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaConefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn Marie K, Director of Sales at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review NadiaConefa!

I am working with our management team to make a few changes to our free breakfast, we'd like it to be healthier too. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated since we want to give our guests what they want! Our spacious king suites have refrigerators and mini-fridge, please do ask for an upgrade on your next visit and if it's available, we'd be happy to upgrade you. We are so happy that you enjoyed your trip, our hotel and staff.

Warm regards, Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

What a great find! Great location with many reasonable priced restaurants; relatively large room (for New York), very professional and helpful staff, the rate included a very good continental breakfast.
We arrived around lunchtime and were allowed to check in to the first available room on the same floor as the lobby. The room faced the back, so no noise, smell, etc. which one tends to associate with Chinatown. Close to subway, within walking distance to many great restaurants. I will definitely put it on my list of hotels for New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn Marie K, Director of Sales at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Sophie 0811,

Receiving such wonderful reviews from fabulous folks like you makes us all SO HAPPY! We always try our very best to check our guests in when they arrive as we truly care about making your overall experience at the Best Western Bowery Hotel a SPECTACULAR ONE! We are ready to welcome you again for another great stay in the near future!

Warm wishes! Dawn Marie klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel a while ago.
Good location Little Italy with small resturants and China town with the feeling of being in Hong Kong. 2 different metrostops close, easy to get to midtown.
Room was clean and OK, bathroom aswell.
Breakfast was included in the rate but actually very disappointing so after the first morning we went to the coffe shop next door.
Front desk people helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobTesCesOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn Marie K, Director of Sales at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Hello Hartford 2012 and thank you for your thoughtful and candid comments.

We definitely pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel and the service that our Front Office SUPERSTARS provide to our wonderful guests! We are so happy that you are a cosmopolitan person that can truly enjoy and appreciate all that our unique neighborhood has to offer.

Please do come and stay with us again soon. CHEERS~

Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Facility is clean, efficient, staff at front desk very professional and welcoming. Helpful in providing information about subways. The room was a decent size, compared to hotels I've stayed at and have paid more for. Wood floor vs. carpet was very welcome. Bathroom was a very good size as well. Location is near the Grand St. (B, D trains) stop -- a very short walk. Two short blocks over is Little Italy. Few doors down is Ferrara's bakery -- always get a cannoli on your way home from dinner! The hotel itself is set in Chinatown - so if you've had enough Italian, well the other favorite cuisine is on your doorstep. And these are the real deal! The sights, sounds and smells of both give this area character. Again, you are a few feet away from a train stop that will take you south to the Battery Park area, or north to Times Square, Broadway and the Central Park area.

There is not much to do in the hotel itself or just outside. If you are travelling solo, a hotel near times square might be a better match. But otherwise, this is definitely a good bargain.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face away from street and are a better bet for restful sleep. However, don't expect a view of much.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hartford2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a very clean hotel in the middle of Chinatown. I hated the location-- but keep in mind that Chinatown is very central to the rest of downtown NYC (SoHo, West Village, FiDi, etc. etc.).

To get to this hotel, you'll walk past disgustingly smelly shops and markets and will have to fight the traditional Chinatown crowds. However, once you get into this hotel, you'll find a clean, moderately sized bedroom, and newly renovated bathroom, and an adequate breakfast downstairs with fruit, oatmeal, waffles, pastries, and coffee.

The price was right and you can do much much worse in NYC for the money. Not my first choice hotel, but I definitely wouldn't be upset about staying here again. That's the main selling point of this hotel-- great value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slong89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Good day Slong 89,

We are so happy that you stayed with us, enjoyed the delicious free breakfast and the extreme cleanlines that we are famous for! Chinatown is a very exciting neighborhood and our location is definitely central to some of the best downtown neighborhoods like SoHo, TriBeCa, Greenwich Village and Little Italy, plus offers easy access to top New York City sights.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon! Dawn Maire Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews