We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhh- The Best Kept Secret In Manhattan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #256 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I always try and get a room here whenever I am in NYC. In a great vibrant neighborhood. Comfy rooms, big compared to the rest of NYC and usually under $150. I like the hardwood floors and flat screen TV's. Big bathrooms too. Very clean. Nice people work here too. Free breakfast. Convenient to the subway, Chinatown, and Little Italy.

Room Tip: The prices usually drop on the BW website - make an early reservation and then check back a few time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moondoggie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

After spending a short time in NYC and a 6-day-east coast tour with an American Touragency we (4 adoults) staied 1 night in this Hotel. I booked it on the booking.com.
The Hotel has a good area at the board of Chinatown and Little Italy. You can reach easily every corner of New York City with the subway from there. The staff is very polite, helpful and nice. Our room was a quite small, but very clean with comfortable beds and it is worth its prise.
I am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudapestTunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

After a long vacation from Brisbane, Australia which included many cities in north America, our final destination was New York. We were therefore in a position to make good comparisons on the hotel accommodation (mainly 3 star) we experienced on our trip. The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel won hands down, and in future trips to New York we will not stay anywhere else.

The staff were the most pleasant and most genuinely welcoming of any staff at any hotel we stayed at across USA and Canada. This attitude was across all staff designations from the front desk, the cleaning staff and the concierge. They all shone and all appeared to love their job - a rare feat in the hospitality industry!

The room we had was on the fifth floor and was very comfortable with a good bed, writing desk, big flat screen television and good size shower. We did not get any traffic/street noise and although the air-conditioning unit was inside the room it was not noisy and didn't cause us any problems.

Location is phenomenal - right at Little Italy and Chinatown. Forget Times Square (where we stayed last trip), this is the far better experience. The italian restaurants in Mulberry and other streets offered the best Italian food we had tasted and all moderately priced. In addition a block away to the left of the hotel in Grand Street is a great cheap Malaysian restaurant called Nyonya.

The subway is literally one block to the right and on the opposite corner for the uptown trains and subways also handy for lower manhatton. Also great shopping on Broadway a short walk away.

Breakfast is only continental, but trust me there is plenty of good places around for a cheap hearty breakfast.

To summarise - the best pub we stayed at in North America - mainly because of staff and location, but the rooms were also comfortable and quiet. We will definately be staying there again. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louienjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for six nights as part of our honeymoon in April 2011.

The hotel is well located, within walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy, Soho, shopping, restaurants and art galleries. If you don’t mind walking a little further afield, we also walked to Brooklyn Bridge, Wall Street, Greenwich Village and TriBeCa from here.

There is a subway station about a block away, with trains going direct to places such as Rockefeller Plaza, the American Museum of Natural History and Brooklyn. We found that with subways and walking we didn’t need to take taxis anywhere.

A word of warning: most airport pick-up and drop-off services won’t come this far so you’ll need to get a taxi or a taxi and a shuttle when going to and from the airport. If you don’t mind carrying your bag up a few flights of subway stairs, the AirTrain is also a good option.

Check-in was easy although we were disappointed to find that even though we had booked well in advance and for six nights, we had been put in a dark room right next to the lifts (elevators), which was very noisy. Fortunately, when we complained we were put in a better, brighter room away from the lifts and had no further issues.

One plus of staying here is that breakfast is included, with a good range of cereal, bagels, waffles, coffee, juice, etcetera. Although the fruit runs out quickly and breakfast in New York wouldn’t be that expensive anyway, it’s still a good bonus.

The staff here vary in terms of helpfulness. One staffer told us they didn’t have maps for Brooklyn, which made it difficult for us when we were walking everywhere. We ended up getting lost and were very frustrated when we returned to find a different staffer with a large pile of Brooklyn maps which would have come in handy a few hours earlier. They also tried to dissuade us from taking the AirTrain to the airport and encouraged us to book an expensive private car instead. We chose the AirTrain and it was fine (and much cheaper).

The only other thing I didn’t like about the hotel is that they charge a fee to hold your bags, which is annoying if you have a large amount of time between check-out and your flight home and don’t want to cart your bags around the city.

All in all, I’d say that while this isn’t a fancy hotel, it’s pleasant, in a good location and good value, especially with breakfast included. I think it’s worth saving the money on a more expensive hotel as you won’t end up spending much time in your room in New York anyway – it is, after all, the city that never sleeps.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorexstevex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We travelled to the Bowery Hanbee with friends and our 6 year old son in March this year, booking through hotelclub.com who made a mistake with our reservation, i.e. failing to reserve a place for our child. Nevertheless, the hotel were extremely accommodating and gave us a larger room at no additonal cost.

I have read some fairly poor reviews for the Chinatown District, but found the hotel to be particularly clean and comfortable and extremely modern (there are no bed bugs in this hotel I can assure you). My only criticism would be that the breakfast area is too small to accommadate the number of guests. Our friends were originally placed in a room on the same level as reception, but they found this too noisy - the hotel moved them to a quieter room straight away. I would suggest extending the breakfast/dining area by removing one or two of the reception floor rooms!

Overall a very pleasant, reasonably priced stay with good transport links to the rest of Manhatten and the other NY boroughs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbyLit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Best Western Bowery for 3 nights. Now if you've stayed in NYC before you will know that not only can it be very expensive for a decent room but even still the rooms are usually quite small and because of the street noise you may find it difficult to sleep . . . you are in NYC after all. Well, Best Western Bowery is the best choice if you're looking for convenient location, comfort, cleanliness and service at a steal. The hotel is located approximately a 10 minute walk to great shopping areas like Nolita, Soho and the big box stores on Broadway. Now if sightseeing is more the purpose of your trip, subway access is close by and getting up to midtown is simple and quick. On a side note, as female travelers safety is always important. Our room was located on the 8th floor. Elevator service is activated by your room key and you can only access the floor where your room is located (with the inclusion of the check-in desk on the second floor). After a certain hour you also need your room key to open the main entrance. We definitely felt safe at all times. The room had hardwood flooring, the bathroom is decorated in modern decor but more importantly it was clean. All the vacation essentials were available - iron, ironing board, safe, armoire. The bed and pillows were super comfy. Noise, both my friend and I are light sleepers and noise was not an issue at all. The room itself was a good size. Neither of us felt claustrophobic. The customer service was absolutely amazing! Melissa at the front desk, called our room as soon as we arrived to make sure everything was to our liking. When we called down for hangers and hand towels, they were delivered within 10 minutes. The hotel staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. I've stayed in NYC several times - once at a hotel in a similar star category as the Best Western Bowery and another time at a 5 star hotel. I can say with all honesty that the Best Western Bowery is the perfect spot for the value. I will stay here again and recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francesca2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2011 with 3 friends. I was pleasantly surprised at the hotel, even after reading many good reviews. I travel a lot and thought I would be underwhelmed but was not. The hotel is in a great location very close to 2 subway stations (Bowery and Grand St) on 2 different lines. One line near the hotel takes you directly out to Howard Beach to get the AirTrain to JFK so very convenient. It was in the middle of Chinatown which can be overwhelming but was only a couple of blocks from Little Italy and SoHo. Also very near Lower East Side which is a great area as well.

The rooms are very nice and very spacious for New York City. Our room had 2 queen beds, a wardrobe closet, a little sitting area with a chair and a table, plus a nice size bathroom. The bathroom has heated floors which is great and a bathtub that has a couple of ledges, nice for placing bathing supplies. Water pressure was great.

The staff was all very friendly. They helped us out a few times with no problems. They also kept our bags upon arrival for the day for no charge.

The hotel included breakfast which was basic but still nice. Had a waffle machine which is a nice little bonus, otherwise toast, bagels, apples, bananas, cereal, juice, etc. Nothing too complicated but a nice little snack to save some money.

I would highly recommend this hotel. We paid the government rate of only $212 a night which was a great deal. This is a great area of the city to stay in. Close to lots of great dining and shopping. We ate at Mercer Kitchen in SoHo which was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldengirl217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#320 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 470 in New York City
2,078 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#262 of 470 in New York City
601 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 470 in New York City
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing