We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great piece of history”

General Grant National Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
New York City All Around Town Hop-on Hop-off Tour
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Full Day Ultimate Manhattan Guided Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$389.00*
and up
New York Helicopter Tour: Manhattan, Brooklyn and Staten Island
Ranked #159 of 1,117 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The final resting place of President Ulysses Simpson Grant and his wife, Julia, is the largest mausoleum in North America. It testifies to a people's gratitude for the man who ended the bloodiest conflict in American history as Commanding General of the Union Army and then, as President of the United States, strove to heal a nation after a civil war and make rights for all citizens a reality.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great piece of history”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

1) it's free. How many things in NYC are? 2) if you happen to arrive at the same time as a bunch of tour buses, wait about 10 minutes. They swarm in, snap photos and are gone. We waited until the place was empty (literally empty) and had a nice conversation with the Park ranger who was awesome: spent time telling my daughter things about General Grant that she had not learned. Worth a visit for sure!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jdkd319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    103
    34
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
“Easy To Find And Very Nice Memorial”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Grants Tomb is right in upper Manhattan and really easy to get to using the subway or driving. Lots of free parking available. Huge memorial with a lot of information inside. President Grant and his wife have their tombs here side by side.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo,ny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Free, and Worth the Time”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

An astonishingly beautiful memorial near the Hudson, and I liked it even more because I wasn't expecting much of anything. I had no idea that Grant's Tomb was in New York City, so I hopped off a tourist bus to see it. It's a small national park, and the building is beautiful. Maybe I imagined it, but the building felt to me like a palpable expression of a nation's gratitude for bringing an end to the most devastating war we've ever had. "Let there be peace" was carved over the entrance, and the memorial itself is soaring and graceful and solid -- a monument to another time and another vision of America and its future.

As usual, the National Park staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stillgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a popular side but worth to see”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

More than 30 years ago I visit this side and was impress. Now I was back with my youngest daughter and confirm is a place worthed to see. The mousoleum is solem and impressive specially for a young viewer and show some historical figure in the heart of New York City. I know is littlebe out of popular side, but you can visit the Riverside Church and Columbia University beautiful buildings. And the view of the river, wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank Lourdes R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grants tomb”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

a bit disappointed only 2 other people visiting and that was a shame, didn't know about the stamping of the passport also a shame - no flyers/brochures about for info - shop person not that friendly - I know the place is sacred and sombre but somebody could have said something
absolutely worth the effort to get there for such and Iconic man and his wife entombed there as well

the monument is massive and ground have lot of mosaic seating that is worth the trip as well but nobody looking (similar to Gaudi in Barcelona) advertise advertise advertise pls

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lunnett s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Grant National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to General Grant National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing