We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a TREAT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smoke Jazz Club

Smoke Jazz Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Smoke Jazz Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #570 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 106th Street
Transit: 1 train to 103rd Street and M104 bus
greenville, sc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a TREAT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you are looking for the quintessential NYC dinner jazz club experience, this is it!! We arrived right on time, but you will get an email confirmation reminding you to phone early to find out when to arrive. It's very easy to find, and parking was not a problem for us at all. we found a space right around the corner without having to hunt for it. You will be given a two hour slot of time to dine and enjoy the set. The pre-fixe menu had a nice variety of dishes, nothing too "out there" and a great wine list. For what it was, we felt the prices were very reasonable (both food and drink). The music was a sensational experience, kind of transporting us back in time to a bygone era. The only thing missing from SMOKE was smoke, which was actually a good thing! The service was good, but not friendly. Maybe it was just our waiter, but he had no personality whatsoever. You will have about 8 inches between your table and those on either side, so while it is pretty tight, it adds to the ambiance intimacy of the space. Highly recommended, we will be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank inca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    132
    42
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Cambs
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a Must Visit Place if in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Folks, visited 'Smoke' on sunday night and cannot recommend it highly enough, it is a must visit place if you are staying in New York. The venue is intimate and the manger and staff are first class, it is obvious that they are passionate about delivering a first class service and passionate about the music delivered in this exceptional venue. Moreover, the food for a two course meal was 30 dollars which in my view is exceptional value given there is no charge for the high quality entertainment provided throughout the evening. The food is not cordon bleu but it was a very tasty meal for very little cost. Allan Harris and his band were playing on sunday night and the quality of the music was first class. He is back in there on the 16th July, so book up ! He is visiting london in October and my friends and i will be going to see him he is so good.

To the manager of the smoke a big thank you, the venue is what it is in no small part to your enthusiasm for providing quality music in an exceptional environment. Thanks for the experience all of my party loved it, well done !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgeb713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not for the food but for the total experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The feeling is like being in someones living room rather than at a restaurant. Very friendly staff, good food and big portions. The jazz band was great but the singer was even better. Actually one of the best I ever heard and the dark, heavy draped room and the couches gave the finest acoustics. You simply got to love this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Classic jazz - mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This club has all the promise for a great experience, but....
Although the music, ambiance and service were fine, the food was at best mediocre because of the lack of any flavor in either my or my partner's entrees. This was all the more unfortunate because of the very high quality of the ingredients. In the mid-80's Pierre Franey wrote in his column shared with Craig Claiborne - the Times legendary food critic - "Flavor first!" I wish chef Williams, whose food I had truly looked forward to sampling, would pay attention to that axiom.
Pretty plates and fancy plating cannot make up for lack of flavor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wwtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great evening , loved the jazz food ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Smoke is a small jazz club, it loops just the way you want a club for intimate jazz night out tob, red curtains dimmed light, small stage. Good value for money food, I had Casar salad, my companion had a hamburger.Tuesday night Mike Ledonne perfect organ jazz. To bad we could not stay for a second set.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke Jazz Club also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Smoke Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing