We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great evening , loved the jazz food ok”
Review of Smoke Jazz Club

Smoke Jazz Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Smoke Jazz Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #564 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 106th Street
Transit: 1 train to 103rd Street and M104 bus
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great evening , loved the jazz food ok”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Smoke is a small jazz club, it loops just the way you want a club for intimate jazz night out tob, red curtains dimmed light, small stage. Good value for money food, I had Casar salad, my companion had a hamburger.Tuesday night Mike Ledonne perfect organ jazz. To bad we could not stay for a second set.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    135
    42
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wow, just, Wow!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was looking for something for a Saturday night in NYC in the upper west side and stumbled upon Smoke. What a find! Made reservations online. They do request you call to reconfirm the day of the show, which we did and probably a good thing as they had to turn some away I believe.

We got a table in the back by the window and I think it was the best table in the place. Not the nearest the stage, but neither of us had to crane our necks or turn to see the stage. The table next to us told us it was usually "their" table and the best, We shared a lamb slider plate, which had two small sliders and some fries. We also shared a bottle of wine. Prices were really fairly reasonable.

There was a music charge for the 1030pm show on a Saturday night, well worth it. We were able to hang on to the table for the next groups two sets as well (no cover for the late shows). It made for a great night out.

This place will ALWAYS make our must do list while in NYC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clkc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best jazz brunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great find and a place I will go back to. Sunday jazz brunch, three seatings, we were at the first one, 11am. No cover! Generous portions, I had lox and bagel for $16. The jazz is top notch, the Annette St. John trio, a great piano player vinny, wonderful arrangements of the music. The place feels like a jazz club with brick walls and chandeliers. You can not do any better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrLeeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“cosy place”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

great place if you like jazz,
You dont need to pay a cover, you just need to have a drin or dinner during the show. Really worth it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great music, amazing food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Tiny, funky upper west side jazz club and the food is outrageous. Try the salmon or the ribs or a burger.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke Jazz Club also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Smoke Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing