We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny wonderful day!”
Review of Central Park

Central Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Small-Group Central Park Bike Tour
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Central Park Walking Tour
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Sunset Tour of Central Park
Ranked #1 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For more than 150 years, visitors have flocked to Central Park's 843 green acres in the heart of Manhattan. Since 1980, the Park has been managed by the Central Park Conservancy, in partnership with the public. Central Park is open 6 am to 1 am daily. Visit the official website of Central Park to learn more about Park happenings and activities and to learn how you to help Central Park!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Eleanor, West Virginia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunny wonderful day!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Our family had an afternoon free whirl visiting the city and we walked through the park and were surprised by its beauty. Every corner we turned was another breathtaking view. We spent the entire afternoon soaking in the sun and watching everyone enjoy the day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100,916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78,083
    19,641
    2,881
    232
    79
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Escape from the City”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Manhattan can be overwhelming whether visiting or living there. When friends visit from out-of-town and go to the American Museum of Natural History or the Metropolitan Museum of Art, I always suggest they take a casual walk through Central Park before returning to the chaos of the city. It is a welcome oasis of peace and solitude. There are signs if you can find them (in my opinion not enough) but I recommend having a map as there are many winding trails to chose from. There are plenty of benches to sit and relax or playgrounds for the kids. If you have small children, get tickets ahead of time for a performance at the Swedish Cottage for a puppet show. "The Mall", a location for many movies, is pleasant for a stroll (there are no shops). From Belvedere Castle you get some nice views and the Shakespeare garden is near by. Row boats are available to rent for a paddle in the lake next to the Boathouse Restaurant. In the SW part of the park is one of the many baseball fields. There are bleachers set up to enjoy watching a game. There are a multitude of activities to partake in or observe on any day of the week. A walk through the park is an experience you are not apt to forget.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityPenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We walked the whole length of Central Park. There is something very poetic about the trees and then the tall buildings all in a row. In central park we saw the Alice in Wonderland stature which was bigger then I had expected. you can do so much here like rowing, ice skating, cycling etc etc, It is also a beautiful place to just rest (if you have the time). A must!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank aglot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Walking through the park”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Even though the weather was a bit chilly, we walked from 86th St. and Lexington through the park back to Broadway and Hotel Beacon. Great exercise....and a bit longer than we thought, but a fine jaunt.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChaCah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Space in The City”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

It did help that it was a beautiful, sunny day when we visited Central Park. Although it was busy, it was great to see everyone enjoying free time, kids playing baseball, families lunching on the grass etc. Just watch out for the joggers and the cyclists!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank denise6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing