We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Because it's there.”

The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
The Museum of Modern Art Admission with Skip-the-Line Access
Ranked #33 of 1,099 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of midtown Manhattan, The Museum of Modern Art is home to the world's greatest collection of modern and contemporary art. The collection includes Vincent van Gogh's "The Starry Night" and Andy Warhol's "Gold Marilyn Monroe," along with works by Jackson Pollock, Jasper Johns, Cindy Sherman, Elizabeth Murray, and many other great artists of our time. MoMA's collection also showcases photography, film, architecture, design, media, and performance art. Visitors can also enjoy shopping and fine and casual dining options.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Because it's there.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Excellent viewing experience, with all the modern and iconoclastic exhibits one could want.
Includes industrial art exhibits. Near bus and subway lines, and is in a secure part of Midtown.
I will return and be wearing good walking shoes!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Craneger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,118
    3,205
    1,289
    391
    206
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“so much art, a little overwhelming”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

On the fourth and fifth floors there's basically a masterpiece every time you turn the corner. Crowds are commensurate with that factor. I personally tend towards the more contemporary and they do a good job of putting together unique curated special exhibits. I was surprised and excited to see so much space dedicated to photography.

This is a minimum 4 hour visit if you want to see everything - more if you want to stop and peruse. I was a little jealous of native New Yorkers that could come and just take in one floor at a time, I felt like I really rushed through it.

Admission price is a bit high at $25 per person.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anyabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulgong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SixFloors”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a great visit to MoMA. Six floors of art well set out and easily accessible. It was very easy to get around .Cafes ,if needed are available and the toilet facilities are on every level.
The Art is very interesting and many different forms and styles. There will be something there for everyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great and interesting”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

great art work from tradtional to modern ,loved the painting of scream it was my favorite since high school was always intrigued by this piece of work and seeing it in real right in front of my eyes was incredible it was so beautilful and the colours are amazing.
there ia a large theatre which is based on time and that is amazing to watch it shows clips of old movie clips to make up 24 hours aday great piece of work well worth viewing.
there is a book store you can purchase art work well worth a look and some good buying.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Modern Art - not for everyone!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visited the MoMA after a recommendation by one of our friends. Firstly it cost $25pp. Which given the extent of the so called artwork at MoMA is a tad expensive.

There are some great paintings by Monet, Van Gogh and Picasso and a number of cool looking exhibits including a suspended helicopter. We loved the retro furniture section with the neat 1960's style artwork.

This is where it ended for us. The random art, like a raised floor with a yellow light was rubbish and shoes in a wall. I have no idea how anyone can call this art. So MoMA yes it was good to visit but we wont be going back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruggedadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing