We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockefeller Center”
Review of Rockefeller Center

Rockefeller Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.00*
and up
TV and Movie Locations Tour with Official NBC Studios Tour
More Info
$15.00*
and up
New York Midtown Scavenger Hunt Adventure
More Info
$269.00*
and up
NYC Day Trip from Providence, RI by Rail
Ranked #21 of 1,117 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rockefeller Center is a national historic landmark in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Home to Top of the Rock Observation Deck, NBC Studios, Radio City Music Hall and much more. Shop, dine and explore at one of New York's most inspiring locations.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rockefeller Center”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

During winter time & Christmas is the best!!! I love it the whole year but for some reason, there's magic at Christmas time

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anmorsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,369
    5,581
    1,438
    174
    60
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rockefeller Center Tour”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed this quite a bit. Learned a lot about the architecture and murals in the center. Never would have even noticed some of them if we hadn't gone on the tour. Now when I watch the opening of "30 Rock" I recognize the images in the background.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place and great views”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The Rockefeller Center is a massive area with shops restaurants and ice skating which makes a must see place in NYC. I primarily went for the viewing deck to see the manhattan skyline. There's 3 levels of viewing with the top level the most impressive because there is no glass or bars obstruction you view. The view itself is amazing. You et a good look at Central Park and the Empire State Building.

While this is a good attraction it does have competition from the viewing deck on the Empire State Building. If you only have time to do one. I'd recommend the Rockefeller Center. Just because there are no viewing obstructions and you get to take photos with the Empire State Building in the background. I'd still recommend doing both though. One during the day and the other at night, and you'll enjoy both perspectives of Manhattan skyline.

Helpful?
Thank Bavan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great view and center”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

this huge skyscraper in New York are really fantastic where its easily reached by Metro or walking to 5th Ave
you can have direct acess to top of rock where great view of all new york
even if you go to empire estate still you need yo visit it
also it contain huge mall

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank waelOufy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingle, West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top of the Rock”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you can only do one of the high viewings (this or Empire State) I would recommend the Rock. The Empire State Building is an iconic part of the New York sky line and to get top pics of it you need to be somewhere else, the Rock is perfect. To be fair we did both buildings but spent far more time up the Rock. We went up very late in the afternoon and enjoyed the views in the daylight but stayed a couple of hours to get a look at it bejewelled in all its night time glory.
Also the views of Central Park are far better from the Rock. My advice is if your budget can meet it, do both!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevieboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockefeller Center also viewed

 

Been to Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing