We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Paul's Chapel

St. Paul's Chapel
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
One World Observatory and World Trade Center Tour
Ranked #40 of 1,078 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The chapel is closed for restoration until work is completed in the fall. The churchyard will remain open. St. Paul's Chapel is part of Trinity Wall Street, an Episcopal parish that has been a part of New York City since 1697. The parish is deeply rooted in the city’s and the nation’s history. Established during the British occupation of New York and recognized by royal charter, Trinity was the first Anglican Church (which followed the services of the Church of England and included the King or Queen in its prayers) in Manhattan. St. Paul's Chapel was founded in 1766 as a chapel-of-ease at Broadway and Fulton Street. George Washington prayed there after his inauguration as President in 1789. Located just across the street from the World Trade Center, St. Paul’s played an important role in hosting recovery workers after the attacks of September 11, 2001.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was just outside our hotel, it was a shame we were unable to see the real beauty of it becuase of the scaffolding however; when inside it is beautiful! We only popped in quickly, but was long enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucyandscott25052012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,996
    867
    208
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was on my way to ground zero and saw this awesome little chapel and catholic cemetery. As I realized the proximity to where the towers once stood I was amazed at the condition. I entered the chapel with the intent of a quick view and moving on. I spent almost 2 hours. The vibe is intense. I watched the full video in the back 58 min. I prayed. Honestly it's very touching and even if you aren't spiritual it's a must see. A place to visit and I recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
162 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Poignant memories of 911”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We paid a trip to St. Paul's Chapel after visiting the 9/11 memorial. It is well worth the visit, with some lovely shrines and homages to the victims and also some other memorabilia collected over the years. Particularly memorable were the uniform and boots belonging to one of the firemen on the day. The grounds outside are also worth a wander around, there's some interesting graves and memorials around the church itself.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MayoForSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Human stories which really tell the absolute horror of that day.

Absolutely worthily hour after visiting Ground Zero. Free, but donation optional

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Macfromscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have visited three or four times and it never dissapoints a quiet oasis in a very busy area well worth a visit and take time to sit and think

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WillRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Paul's Chapel also viewed

 

Been to St. Paul's Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing