We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gold Vault Tour - Disappointing”

Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Downtown Manhattan Walking Tour
Ranked #186 of 1,093 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can tour the trading rooms, the museum and the Fed's vault, which holds 900 tons of gold.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gold Vault Tour - Disappointing”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently took a group of high school students on the gold vault tour. It was disappointing to me, and to the students. The tour begins with a 10 minute economics lesson (which was actually very good, but it was a lecture) and then you proceed down into the vault. The vault, which you see from a small foyer, looks kind of like an old prison. You only see a very small amount of gold, and it wasn't at all impressive to see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank roadtested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    72
    38
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Interesting, though not essential”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is actually a great thing to do; I lived / worked nearby for a while and always walked by this uber-secure building with turrets on the top meaning to go inside. I finally investigated and identified the process to get inside. You cannot simply show up on the day of and expect to get in, you need to be part of a tour. The guided tours are free and take about 45 minutes; though need to be booked well in advance (I'm talking months) –http://www.newyorkfed.org/aboutthefed/visiting.html.

The building is very secure; think airport, you will have to go through metal detectors and cannot bring anything inside. You’ll get to see old coins, learn about what the Federal Reserve System does...and see the vault! It is an exhilarating feeling to walk through the ridiculously thick door into the vault. Although it is supposedly the largest accumulation of gold on the planet, it is a far cry from holding about 10% of the world’s gold as it did in the 1920’s. It is still a thrill to stand a few feet from millions of dollars. I could not help thinking of Die Hard 3 the entire time I was inside.

The NY Federal Reserve Bank is located close to the subway and to several other attractions in Lower Manhattan (like the New York Stock Exchange).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank IchBesorgeDasBier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All that Gold..”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked this well before we visited NY, and were really glad we did. The building is very secure and we made sure we arrived in good time. The guides are very knowledgeable and explained the Federal Reserve Banks role in the US, trying to keep it informative but not boring. The highlight was decending down to the vault, where we could see the Gold bars stored. There are 533,000 gold bars worth $360Billion stored down there. That was quite an eye opener. Well worth booking in advance to visit, oh and no charge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank soulboyBognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“love the gold”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was part of a group that was given a private tour. We were able to see the gold and learn about the storage and security. It was so interesting. THe staff is very helpful and nice. the history of money and the exhibits are very interesting

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luvbigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cool Tour finishing in the gold vault”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I found the tour and seeing the history of the American money interesting. Also the tour was reasonably informative on the role of the Federal Reserve. But nothing tops standing in a room with 300 billion dollars of Gold. Unfortunatly you can touch but it is worth the trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MandyandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federal Reserve Bank of New York also viewed

 

Been to Federal Reserve Bank of New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing