We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around New York City
from $64.00
More Info
from $28.00
More Info
from $46.17
More Info
from $41.37
More Info
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
32
50
53
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
32
50
53
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small museum tall buildings interactive displays lower manhattan sky scrapers staten island ferry freedom tower on display development history tallest wtc visitors timeline enthusiasts skyline century
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 171 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

This is a small museum that is very tricky to find, but it helps one to come to an understanding of the dramatic skyline of New York. This is and has been for over a hundred years a city that has defined the idea that the sky is the limit and this museum provides an explanation of how that happened. Since I come from South Carolina where tall buildings are not much of a factor, this museum helped me see a different story. There are great timelines with explanations and comparisons of the tallest buildings in our world. Through visuals , models and explanations, I was able to connect with the past, present and future of an an amazing city and the story of man reaching for the sky.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank FinGin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

This museum covers the technical improvements, zoning law changes and financial incentives that has led the skyline of Manhattan to look as it does today. Of particular interest were some interactive displays that allowed you to manually adjust the skyline to different eras; seeing how various skyscrapers were added. There's a lot of displays on how individual skyscrapers were built, such as the past WTC and current Freedom Tower. Interesting to explore after having just taken the nearby Staten Island Ferry to see this very skyline.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank christopherbO9687MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

It was interesting to see the progression in the NY skyline, and to learn more about the construction and development of skyscrapers. I enjoyed the documentary film showing the construction of the original WTC twin towers. Definitely worth the $5. They have a nice NYC book selection, too, for visitors. I bought a couple interesting ones that I hadn't seen anywhere else.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank rocket917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

The admission is $ 5

I expected something huge or just big (like a skyscraper is); but what I found are some models on display and a lot of written information about skyscrapers.

My highlight was a 5 minute film about building the twin towers back in 1968.

I think, this museum is very small and I would not recommend it = better save your money or go somewhere else.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank bobx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018

I discovered this museum through Groupon. They were offering a deal and we decided to go and check it out.

The museum is VERY SMALL and walks you through the history and development of Manhattan. There are pictures and details of the Twin Towers being built, a scale model of NYC, lots of newspaper articles, and information about how many stories as well as the heights of the tallest buildings in the world.

If interested in architecture or you like to read a lot, then this museum is for you!

PS - If this review was useful, please click the HELPFUL button on your phone or you can click the THANK YOU button on your computer. I'd appreciate it! :-D

Date of experience: October 2017
6  Thank Cynderella43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews