We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhat informative”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Skyscraper Museum

Skyscraper Museum
Ranked #311 of 1,078 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wall Street was the building ground for early skyscrapers, and this museum is dedicated to studying and enjoying them.
Level Contributor
1,593 reviews
1,215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Somewhat informative”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I visited this museum because it was listed in 1000 Places to See Before You Die (US Edition). It is a bit hidden but the price isn't too much compared to some museums in NYC. It is small, but they have tried to pack a lot of information in there. They go over the history of the first skyscrapers and the major skyscrapers of New York, plus they have a small area dedicated to the skyscrapers of the world. If you have the time and are down by Battery Park, pop in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    38
    42
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Save your $5”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Thought we would visit this museum as an alternative to the more austere museums nearby. However, as another reviewer noted - the "clerk" at the entry was beyond rude - even after we toured the whole floor and purchased a souvenir for my son.

It is only 1 floor and just filled with architects models. There is one interesting display of a video screen showing different views from varying heights but that's about it. Skip this one. And if management is reading - you might want to do some reworking of personnel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rickypiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
617 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Disappointing, one to miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We went on recommendation from a locals guide book. The advertised reopening exhibition was not complete so we only saw one floor of exhibits. Just assessing the way the information is presented, in our view, is not very user friendly. Just pictures and dry writing and some models. Also coming for London they may wish to consider adding the tallest building in Western Europe, the Shard, to their collection. We were sorry that we wasting the journey time getting there. Very poorly signposted as well

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tolroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It's a coffee table book”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I find skyscrapers to be interesting, so I found the museum to be interesting. The problem with this place is that it's just not much of a museum. It's more like someone took a good coffee table book on New York skyscrapers and put all of the pages on some walls, along with a few run-down models. If you like skyscrapers, some of the content will interest you, but there really isn't much in the way of exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank benitodisparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small, interesting, affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The architecture of NYC intrigued me enough to seek out this museum. Compared to other museums, I paid only a tiny admission fee. It consisted of one large room, with mostly photos and write-ups about the skyscraper race that led to taller and taller buildings, as well as ornate decorations on the outsides. Skyscrapers in other cities were also discussed when they were relevant to the race. Chicago was mentioned frequently. I would have loved even a SINGLE place to sit down while reading the information. I was there for an hour and a half and saw most of it (though I found the info. on the new World Trade Center to be too depressing to look at). There was a very interesting video (at least 15 minutes long) about the building of the original World Trade Center twin towers. This would have been the perfect place for a bench. There was a smattering of information on the decorations on the outsides of the skyscrapers, but I would have loved to see more, as that is what I had hoped to learn about). When I was in the restroom, the lights turned off because they were on a motion sensor that was set on a very short time span. I was glad I was not in the stall at the time, but was by the sink. It turned off a couple more times as I washed my hands, and I had to keep waving my arms to get the lights to turn on again. There is a tiny book shop near the entrance of the museum, and I would have liked to have seen some souvenirs. For the small amount that I paid to get in, I was glad I went. It's right across the street from the Holocaust Museum, and both could possibly be visited in the same day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyscraper Museum also viewed

 

Been to Skyscraper Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing