We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your time”
Review of Skyscraper Museum

Skyscraper Museum
Ranked #316 of 1,098 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wall Street was the building ground for early skyscrapers, and this museum is dedicated to studying and enjoying them.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Save your time”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We went out of our way to make a trip down to the Skyscraper Museum, which was a big mistake. It's hardly a museum - it's more like a tiny room with a few quasi-interesting photos and tidbits hanging on the walls. It was quite hot the day we visited, and the "museum" was insanely hot - it clearly wasn't air-conditioned, which was distracting. With so many great things to see and do in NYC, don't bother with this!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Tips_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    43
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small, but very detailed!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

OK, this museum is VERY small, but it is also one of the most detail packed museums in New York City. Entrance is only $5 and the staff are very friendly and informative. The main gallery consists of one large room, which is full of posters, models, videos and wall charts with up to date information and old photos showing the broad history of Skyscraper construction. The models are fantastic, very detailed and intricately made. There is a large section dedicated to September 11th 2001 and the future of the WTC site.

I really enjoyed this museum, and if you are interested in architecture and the history of tall buildings, The Skyscraper Museum is for you.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrmfield21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“very small but definitely worth a visit if you are in the area”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

the best thing about the museum is the timeline showing how and where skyscrapers developed in the world over time. It really drives home that the centre of the world is shifting to Asia big time. Also interesting to see the old photos of New York from 1850 to today. What a change! I expected there to be more about the individual buildings in NY and Chicago but in fact when I went there was more about the skyscrapers being build globally. Worth a visit and it will not take up too much of your valuable time. Staff charming.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I was really looking forward to visiting this museum. I was expecting to learn how skyscrapers are built, all about the engineering discoveries and technologies that made it possible to build taller and bigger. After 9/11, everyone knows a tiny bit about skyscraper construction, after all, so maybe some exhibits about how the structure can fail, stuff about changes in fireproofing? Anyway, I may be a bit of a geek but all we got was a load of photos of skyscrapers. Since we went in on the New York Pass, it didn't cost us any extra, and the entry fee is only 5 bucks or so but even so, I wasted time finding it when I could have been doing something else. Total waste of what could be an interesting site.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very small, but interesting”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

It is really small, only one exhibit. There is a security gaurd making sure nobody touches anything, so he might follow you around if your kids touch something.

Helpful?
Thank Sydneyfarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyscraper Museum also viewed

 

Been to Skyscraper Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing