We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap and a terrible experience”
Review of Benoit New York

Benoit New York
Reserve with OpenTable
Benoit New York is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #484 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Description: Restaurant, Wine Bar & Private Dining - Open since 2008, Benoit New York is the third member of internationally-acclaimed Chef Alain Ducasse's Benoit family - which also includes the bistro in Paris since 1912 and Benoit Tokyo. In New York, guests enjoy a warm and authentic experience and a menu filled with traditional bistro dishes with a modern flair. In August 2016, the restaurant underwent a renovation, bringing a contemporary New York City touch to the classic French restaurant.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist trap and a terrible experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is the worst restaurant that I have ever been to in New York. The place gives a bad feeling when one arrives. We should have left. The mussels were horrible, the cassoulet tasted like microwaved hash brown potatoes.
We were very upset with the 4 Seasons Hotel for recommending this poor quality bistro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    227
    86
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
166 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Classic french and delicious food”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a place to go for comfort food. Delicious croque monsieur, champagne, mussels, salads, everything delicious. Good service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ro_teixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An interesting coincidence”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This this French bistro style restaurant was a couple of blocks from our hotel so we decided to try it since we had been to another restaurant with the same name in Paris a number of years ago. What a coincidence; it was the same owners.

The food was quite tasty and the prices we reasonable for New York. We shared a pate as a starter; we were glad we did since that was a nearly a meal in itself. The loup de mer was excellent.

The only drawback was the tables were small and the conversation from the next table was a bit annoying. These two businessmen were trying to impress each other by showing off their Rolex watches. Then the conversation switched to ways they could get around taxes through clever "schemes". Too bad we were not from the IRS.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyageurs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
228 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Does not disappoint”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Attentive service, great menu, delicious food.
Would highly recommend it, and would definitely dine there again on our next trip to NYC!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aluor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cute Bistro”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really liked this cute French bistro. It has a great atmosphere. We walked in and sat at the bar for dinner. The service was great and prices reasonable (for New York). The bartender was very professional and knowledgeable. I had a burger and frites and it was very good. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMM5226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benoit New York also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Benoit New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing