We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hotel 91

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel 91
Ranked #340 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel along with some friends. When we got there, our expectations were ruined because the lobby of this hotel were under construction. The lift could not carry more than three persons with big luggage. The staffs were not friendly and the rooms were creepy somehow.

What I loved about this hotel, even a bit creepy, the rooms were nice and big for NYC hotel. Basically the beds were comfortable and very clean.
But the worst part was when we opened the window I got the bridge and the noise. It was very disturbing. The bathroom was average and could be counted as clean.

If you try to find a basic hotel with cheap price then this hotel is recommended. As long as you do not travel with older persons because they may have problems to use the stair instead.

Room Tip: Room beside the lobby hotel, the one who faces the street, is so big and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    336
    181
    59
    37
See reviews for
169
246
51
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed there in September, 2013. This was our 2nd. time. The first time in 2012 was okay. This stay the Front door lock to our room was broken. The toilet didn't work. The Air Conditioning didn't work. Cound'nt close a window. Smelled exhause fuels from cars on Manhattan bridge in our room. They couldn't fix it. We asked for another room. Front dest lady said no rooms available. Service repairman came, couldn't fix most problems. He spoke to the front desk. A room NEXT door to this room magically was available. Front desk Lady 'Lier, lier, pants on fire.
No closet in this room. Put your underware and such on a self. We will never stay at this hotel again. Don't take a chance on this Hotel from hell.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We do I must say book this hotel purely on price..
Nothing is ever too much trouble.. It really is worth every dollar .. Towels are luvly.. Staff are really friendly & can't do eno..
As an avid runner .. Running over manhattan bridge & back to the hotel via Brooklyn bridge is an experience I will never forget..
Subway two blocks away.. The F line.. 3 blocks away a bar 169 was amazing .. $4 a drink & the food.. Unreal❤️

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nailparlour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Cheap hotels comfortable beds.

Clean and tidy. Ideal for a cheap NYC crash pad. Ask for a quiet room away from the bridge.

For the price you can't go wrong. Handy to subway, east village and Nolita

The rooms are basic but if you're only use them to sleep what more do you need
To

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank figgyramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel 91 December 5th thru the 9th. Our children gave us a trip to New York City for an anniversary gift and picked the hotel for us. The service was perfect....everyone from the manager, John, to the maintenance man, Saual, were so accommodating and helpful and made our stay a pleasure. Having never been to New York before, we needed alot of help and they did everything they could for us, giving us tips about the city, restuarants and the dreadful subway. They even provided us with maps of the city. Our room was on the side of the train and we heard it but it never kept us up. The rooms were clean and pleasant, with plenty of room, Wifi and TV. The hotels location in Chinatown was ideal and no matter where you wanted to go it was easy to get to. We plan to go back to New York City and would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobLucyQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our group of 4 stayed here Nov 21-24. We had a double queen room. We were amazed at the space for a hotel in NYC at this reasonable price. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown and a short 2 block walk to the subway. The complimentary coffee is instant coffee, so we have found the bakery 2 doors down that has the BEST coffee! Don't miss Dim Sum at the Golden Unicorn down the street. Some of the reviews talked about the train noise which we could barely hear and was no problem at all. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janfromsolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here between November and December. There were three of us so had the double queen room.

The room was very spacious as was the bathroom. It was basic, though had a TV, one bedside table, two desks, a chair, full size ironing board and iron. The one criticism was that there wasn't a lot of hanging space for clothes.

The beds were clean and comfy. The beds were made every day with fresh towels for the bathroom. Overall we were impressed with the hotel room and is facilities. For the price we paid and for being in New York at that time of year was a bargain. I went in 2011 and stayed in someone's basement in Jersey!

The location is extremely handy for Downtown attractions like Wall Street, 9/11 Memorial, ferry to Statue of Liberty (about a 10-15 minute walk) but is quite a way from Time Square, Central Park etc. You can walk it, but expect it to take over an hour. Cab fares range between $15-$20 one way excluding tip - cheap if split three ways, not so much if you're on your own.

It'll be wrong not to mention that the train goes past the hotel fairly frequently. We were at the front of the hotel so good the most noise, but they have tried to limit it by installing secondary glazing. To me it sounds like the window blowing against the window. Roughly they pass every 15-20 minutes, less the latest it gets. It was obvious, but not as much to stop me from sleeping.

We like Chinatown so enjoyed going shopping and eating out in the evenings in the area. It's very close to Little Italy too, so get a good pizza before you leave!

In summary, we were really pleased for the price. We never had to deal with the staff, so can't comment, but they looked after our bags all day on our last day for free. I would stay here again

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GreenSaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#426 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel 91? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel 91

Property: The Hotel 91
Address: 91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002-7014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel 91 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 70 room smoke free hotel in Manhattan’s vibrant Lower East Side. Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, Wall Street, and other major NYC attractions are only steps away. The Hotel is easily accessible by car, taxi, and public transportation. Hotel 91 is the perfect synergy between luxurious downtown boutique and outstanding value; offering reasonably sized guest rooms and room accommodations in a bargain for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel 91 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
91 Hotel New York City
Hotel 91

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing