We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel in China Town”
Review of The Hotel 91

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel 91
Ranked #341 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Cheap hotels comfortable beds.

Clean and tidy. Ideal for a cheap NYC crash pad. Ask for a quiet room away from the bridge.

For the price you can't go wrong. Handy to subway, east village and Nolita

The rooms are basic but if you're only use them to sleep what more do you need
To

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank figgyramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 790 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel 91 December 5th thru the 9th. Our children gave us a trip to New York City for an anniversary gift and picked the hotel for us. The service was perfect....everyone from the manager, John, to the maintenance man, Saual, were so accommodating and helpful and made our stay a pleasure. Having never been to New York before, we needed alot of help and they did everything they could for us, giving us tips about the city, restuarants and the dreadful subway. They even provided us with maps of the city. Our room was on the side of the train and we heard it but it never kept us up. The rooms were clean and pleasant, with plenty of room, Wifi and TV. The hotels location in Chinatown was ideal and no matter where you wanted to go it was easy to get to. We plan to go back to New York City and would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobLucyQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our group of 4 stayed here Nov 21-24. We had a double queen room. We were amazed at the space for a hotel in NYC at this reasonable price. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown and a short 2 block walk to the subway. The complimentary coffee is instant coffee, so we have found the bakery 2 doors down that has the BEST coffee! Don't miss Dim Sum at the Golden Unicorn down the street. Some of the reviews talked about the train noise which we could barely hear and was no problem at all. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janfromsolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here between November and December. There were three of us so had the double queen room.

The room was very spacious as was the bathroom. It was basic, though had a TV, one bedside table, two desks, a chair, full size ironing board and iron. The one criticism was that there wasn't a lot of hanging space for clothes.

The beds were clean and comfy. The beds were made every day with fresh towels for the bathroom. Overall we were impressed with the hotel room and is facilities. For the price we paid and for being in New York at that time of year was a bargain. I went in 2011 and stayed in someone's basement in Jersey!

The location is extremely handy for Downtown attractions like Wall Street, 9/11 Memorial, ferry to Statue of Liberty (about a 10-15 minute walk) but is quite a way from Time Square, Central Park etc. You can walk it, but expect it to take over an hour. Cab fares range between $15-$20 one way excluding tip - cheap if split three ways, not so much if you're on your own.

It'll be wrong not to mention that the train goes past the hotel fairly frequently. We were at the front of the hotel so good the most noise, but they have tried to limit it by installing secondary glazing. To me it sounds like the window blowing against the window. Roughly they pass every 15-20 minutes, less the latest it gets. It was obvious, but not as much to stop me from sleeping.

We like Chinatown so enjoyed going shopping and eating out in the evenings in the area. It's very close to Little Italy too, so get a good pizza before you leave!

In summary, we were really pleased for the price. We never had to deal with the staff, so can't comment, but they looked after our bags all day on our last day for free. I would stay here again

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank GreenSaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We booked this hotel as a cheaper option knowing it was a little out the way... Located directly in chinatown. Its very easy to find, accessible and a 5/10min walk from East Broadway subway which heading on the F line will take you straight to top attractions and more central parts.
The staff are helpful and friendly, tea and coffee is complimentary in the foyer area at your own service.
The cleaner is polite, does a good job and we are being well looked after. Hotel is better than imagined
Having a great time :-) thanks

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank TopLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights from 30th Oct to the 5th Nov.
I'm no sure what all the fuss is about, yes there are trains and we could not be closer to the bridge, i took a picture out of the window it was close! However they did not keep us awake at all. I think if you can't sleep at night you're not doing the the city right! We were so tired we slept through everything, every night. The rooms were cleaned every single day, which is impressive.

The only thing that let it down, if anything, was there was no safe in the room and no real storage but honestly it wasn't really an issue.
I wouldn't recommend it to anyone that doesn't know the city very well as it is a little too far out, but we enjoyed the location and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location was just a couple of blocks from the subway entrance which made it easy to get around the city, and the room was plain, but clean; however our room faced the Manhatten Bridge and the sound of the screeching trains going by every few minutes made for sleepless nights. Perhaps if we had been on the other side of the hallway it would have been better, but doubt we would go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 470 in New York City
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#389 of 470 in New York City
34 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#444 of 470 in New York City
870 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#358 of 470 in New York City
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel 91? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel 91

Address: 91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002-7014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $97 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel 91 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 70 room smoke free hotel in Manhattan’s vibrant Lower East Side. Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, Wall Street, and other major NYC attractions are only steps away. The Hotel is easily accessible by car, taxi, and public transportation. Hotel 91 is the perfect synergy between luxurious downtown boutique and outstanding value; offering reasonably sized guest rooms and room accommodations in a bargain for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel 91 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
91 Hotel New York City
Hotel 91

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing