We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel 91
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$306
$213
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$135
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown(New York City)(Great Value!)
$228
$197
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$332
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$369
$316
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$167
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lotte New York Palace(New York City)
$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
$192
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveler rating
120
387
208
61
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
387
208
61
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanhattan bridgetrain noisef lineheart of china townlight sleepernew yorkbudget hotellower east sidefree tea and coffeesubway stationcanal stbattery parkminute walkwall streethotel is situatedworld tradestayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 818 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with some friend. Spacious room with two queensize beds and a good sized bathroom with bathtub. Housekeeping is good, the sweet chineese lady provided us clean towels every day. Carpet on the floor was dity and the corridor outside the room had a weird smell. They put a free bottle of water in the room everyday, and also some schampoo and soaps - suprising for att low cost hotel.
We really missed a mirror outside the bathroom, being 3 girls sharing a room. ;)
The hotel does notserve breakfast, but theres a few vending machines in the lobby with drinks and snacks. Hotel staff just looked bored. The can help you with Airport transfer, 60US to Newark and 45US to JFK.
Location in Chinatown is good for dinner (Close to SoHo and Litle Italy), and two blocks away from East Broadway underground.
I can recomend this hotel for travellers on a tight budget, but this is not for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IdaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Really good hotel, looks nice and clean. Rooms are not fancy but just perfect. Beds are fine, anti-allergic as well. Service is friendly and excellent. Location is not that great, in Chinatown next to Manhattan bridge, can be noisy. But ok, we didn't mind walking a bit or taking a subway. There are a few sightseeing places in the neighborhood though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bouwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location for exploring the sights of New York. The hotel is a five minute walk from the nearest subway station, which allows easy access to all areas of New york. The hotel is located on a busy street in Chinatown. We walked around the local area at both day and night and felt completely safe. The hotel is next to a very busy subway line and unfortunately train noise could be heard. Afetr reading previous reviews i bought some ear plugs which blocked out this noise perfectly. The hotel was spotless, and the staff were always helpful and happy to provide information about the city. When i return to New York i will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkergrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location of the hotel is good to access the tourist attractions but the actual location of the hotel in the heart of China Town is smelly and dirty and extremely noisy with the subway right next door. Very hard to sleep at night and I got a feeling of vertigo which I can only put down to being so close the bridge.
I would never stay here again, however the staff were helpful if not overly friendly, The lift takes a month of sundays to come when called and the reception is actually located on the 1st floor.
If I ever travel to New York again I will make sure I have the money to pay for a hotel located in a better cleaner quieter area. I only chose this hotel due to it being cheaper.
There is no fridge in the room so I would always have to go out on the street to buy my water which was cheaper than buying from the vending machine.
The room is so small it feels like the walls are closing in on you!
Don't stay here save up the money and choose a better hotel in a better area no one in Chinatown speaks english so if you are lost or want directions to get anywhere forget about asking anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in August. I stayed here because I didn't need a high standard of accommodation as I was travelling by myself.

The highlights of this hotel were:

* Price: excellent value for money at around USD100 a night. I couldn't find anything else near this price and most hotels in Manhattan were between 400-600.

* Location: right near Chinatown and Little India, subway a couple of hundred metres away. May not be for everyone if you are sensitive to some of the smells in the street in Chinatown!

* Room: is basic and reasonably small but of a more than acceptable standard for the price. The bed was excellent and the bathroom fine. Room Tip: ask for a room which does not face the Manhattan Bridge if you are a light sleeper!

* Staff: were polite and helpful, no issues here at all.

Issues to be aware of:

* Internet: the internet in the hotel is not great. Actually it is pretty poor so if this is important to you this may not be a great place for you. I note from previous reviews this is not a new issue and the hotel should fix this if they want to advertise internet services.

* Noise: as above, you are close to the Manhattan bridge and subway, it is pretty noisy.

Bottom line is that this hotel is great if you are not concerned about some of the issues above. If you are normally worried about the décor in hotels or expect to be pampered for $100 then you should look for another hotel :)

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Manhattan Bridge are best for sleeping
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kosta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews