We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“91 like 1”
Review of The Hotel 91

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel 91
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“91 like 1”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is definitely worth a command, priced about the quality is really good, the service was very nice, clean, and nice to have access to the Internet and the telephone, food ok, all without problems, I recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    350
    189
    60
    37
See reviews for
180
257
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Norway, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with some friend. Spacious room with two queensize beds and a good sized bathroom with bathtub. Housekeeping is good, the sweet chineese lady provided us clean towels every day. Carpet on the floor was dity and the corridor outside the room had a weird smell. They put a free bottle of water in the room everyday, and also some schampoo and soaps - suprising for att low cost hotel.
We really missed a mirror outside the bathroom, being 3 girls sharing a room. ;)
The hotel does notserve breakfast, but theres a few vending machines in the lobby with drinks and snacks. Hotel staff just looked bored. The can help you with Airport transfer, 60US to Newark and 45US to JFK.
Location in Chinatown is good for dinner (Close to SoHo and Litle Italy), and two blocks away from East Broadway underground.
I can recomend this hotel for travellers on a tight budget, but this is not for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IdaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Really good hotel, looks nice and clean. Rooms are not fancy but just perfect. Beds are fine, anti-allergic as well. Service is friendly and excellent. Location is not that great, in Chinatown next to Manhattan bridge, can be noisy. But ok, we didn't mind walking a bit or taking a subway. There are a few sightseeing places in the neighborhood though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bouwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location for exploring the sights of New York. The hotel is a five minute walk from the nearest subway station, which allows easy access to all areas of New york. The hotel is located on a busy street in Chinatown. We walked around the local area at both day and night and felt completely safe. The hotel is next to a very busy subway line and unfortunately train noise could be heard. Afetr reading previous reviews i bought some ear plugs which blocked out this noise perfectly. The hotel was spotless, and the staff were always helpful and happy to provide information about the city. When i return to New York i will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkergrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location of the hotel is good to access the tourist attractions but the actual location of the hotel in the heart of China Town is smelly and dirty and extremely noisy with the subway right next door. Very hard to sleep at night and I got a feeling of vertigo which I can only put down to being so close the bridge.
I would never stay here again, however the staff were helpful if not overly friendly, The lift takes a month of sundays to come when called and the reception is actually located on the 1st floor.
If I ever travel to New York again I will make sure I have the money to pay for a hotel located in a better cleaner quieter area. I only chose this hotel due to it being cheaper.
There is no fridge in the room so I would always have to go out on the street to buy my water which was cheaper than buying from the vending machine.
The room is so small it feels like the walls are closing in on you!
Don't stay here save up the money and choose a better hotel in a better area no one in Chinatown speaks english so if you are lost or want directions to get anywhere forget about asking anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in August. I stayed here because I didn't need a high standard of accommodation as I was travelling by myself.

The highlights of this hotel were:

* Price: excellent value for money at around USD100 a night. I couldn't find anything else near this price and most hotels in Manhattan were between 400-600.

* Location: right near Chinatown and Little India, subway a couple of hundred metres away. May not be for everyone if you are sensitive to some of the smells in the street in Chinatown!

* Room: is basic and reasonably small but of a more than acceptable standard for the price. The bed was excellent and the bathroom fine. Room Tip: ask for a room which does not face the Manhattan Bridge if you are a light sleeper!

* Staff: were polite and helpful, no issues here at all.

Issues to be aware of:

* Internet: the internet in the hotel is not great. Actually it is pretty poor so if this is important to you this may not be a great place for you. I note from previous reviews this is not a new issue and the hotel should fix this if they want to advertise internet services.

* Noise: as above, you are close to the Manhattan bridge and subway, it is pretty noisy.

Bottom line is that this hotel is great if you are not concerned about some of the issues above. If you are normally worried about the décor in hotels or expect to be pampered for $100 then you should look for another hotel :)

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Manhattan Bridge are best for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kosta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed two nights - 2 adults and 1 teenager. Room was small, but very clean and updated. Front desk was very helpful with directions. Beds were very comfortable. Next to the subway, but noise is not distracting. Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown, close to the subway station. Only complaint was they only offered instant coffee. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#411 of 467 in New York City
24 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#367 of 467 in New York City
412 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#317 of 467 in New York City
1,537 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#347 of 467 in New York City
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel 91? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel 91

Property: The Hotel 91
Address: 91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002-7014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel 91 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 70 room smoke free hotel in Manhattan’s vibrant Lower East Side. Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, Wall Street, and other major NYC attractions are only steps away. The Hotel is easily accessible by car, taxi, and public transportation. Hotel 91 is the perfect synergy between luxurious downtown boutique and outstanding value; offering reasonably sized guest rooms and room accommodations in a bargain for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel 91 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
91 Hotel New York City
Hotel 91

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing