We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel 91
Nearby Hotels
$347
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$182
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$217
$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$291
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$458
$359
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$234
$195
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
$286
$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$148
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$142
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveler rating
120
387
209
61
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
387
209
61
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanhattan bridgetrain noisef lineheart of china townlight sleepernew yorkbudget hotellower east sidefree tea and coffeesubway stationcanal stbattery parkminute walkwall streethotel is situatedworld tradestayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 819 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel located in Chinatown and near the F metro line. If you get a room near the Manhattan Bridge, you will have sleepless nights due to the LOUD rumbling of the subways.

The room was pretty ok, quite clean but the reception staff were cold and curt in answering your queries.

There is a nice cake/pastry cafe besides the hotel, sell really great cakes and coffee, plus it's cheap.

In conclusion, only stay there if you can put up with foul smell from the streets, loud rumbling noise of the subway and unfriendly staff.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that do not face the Manhattan Bridge if you want to have a good night sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accura_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I visit NYC at least once a year, this year our visit was via our summer family vacation with our teenage children. We reserved two rooms, one for the children, and one for us. We have stayed at this hotel three times now and this past time we noticed a decline. The rooms are starting to look a bit worn, we had to switch rooms because the bathroom in the room we were in smelled like mildew. They did not clean our rooms for two days in a row until I finally went and asked for the rooms to be cleaned. It is a very basic hotel and that is fine given how little you are usually in your room when visiting NYC. The staff is always friendly and accommodating and the value of the hotel is good for city standards, especially the price. It is always interesting to stay in Chinatown because of the people and atmosphere. If you want a cheap and clean hotel this is the way to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street out front because otherwise the Manhattan Bridge subway runs right past the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CandS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here for three days and was quite happy with the comfort and cleanliness of the room, the location, and, of course, the value. There was an American diner down the street that had great food with moderate (not NY) prices. It was easy to walk to Little Italy, parks, main streets, the World Trade Center area, etc. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 608 was quiet and had a window looking out at the bridge.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This review is based on a two week stay in a queen room on the top floor, facing the street.
PROS:
Room:
- Clean, daily turn down.
- Flat screen TV, Iron, Hairdryer, Climate Control Air Con
- Comfortable bed, choice of two pillows.
- Very large for NYC (we had a corridor, room to place bags and more to spare)
- Extremely quiet when double glazed windows closed.
- Laundry room available too.
- Private airport transfer on departure. Organised through the front desk (which is on level 1).
Location:
- Close to the F Orange Metro line which connected to most lines.
- Walking distance to Bowery, Little Italy, Canal, Broadway shopping.
- Great little eateries around (plenty of choices in Chinatown, Doughnut Planet on Grand and Essex, as was Flowers Cafe (great bagels) and bars (Bar 169 - cheap drinks and oysters!)
CONS
Room:
- Hairdryer was on the wall, though still had enough power.
- TV did not have great reception.
- Wifi pretty much didn’t exist.
- Older room but not in a way that was a problem.
- Plastic cups rather than glass.
- No minibar, but very cheap vending machines located on several floors.
- An extremely slow lift, but that seemed to be common in NYC. Walking the stairs was much quicker.
Location:
- Chinatown has a certain aroma and some radio-active looking puddles. If you can’t handle strong smells, this place is not for you.
- F Orange metro line was probably the slowest in all that we encountered.
OVERALL
A great, safe and well located base in NYC. Always had a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street seemed to be larger and less noisy than other reviews have suggested. We only heard a slight rumble of the trains if we listened out for them.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss_Sparkylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went to Manhattan NYC this past Saturday with my bf for a wedding reception, so we decided to stay at Hotel 91, which was closest to the wedding restaurant. The check in was pretty quick, got to our room in less than 15 minutes, the room was not too big, not too small. Sheets were clean, and the bed was very comfortable, Restroom was clean.

The only down side is the hotel is awfully closed to the Bridge, so when ever the subways/trains went by, could give you a good headache. If you don't like noise, don't stay here, might keep you up all night, although the rooms could use some sound poof walls.

Over all not a bad hotel at all. Will sure be checking in next time we go down. Thanks.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms from the back side of the hotel, less noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephy8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews