We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel 91

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel 91
Ranked #340 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My friend and I have just come back from 5 nights staying at Hotel 91. What a gem. It was clean, friendly, in a great cosmopolitan location and the beds were the best we have ever slept in. Yes, it is close to the Manhattan Bridge, but with the double glazing, the noise never bothered us one bit. It was a great base to explore the real New York, easy to get the subway and local buses. We were far more adventurous (checking out local places) because of the location and felt completely safe. It was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    326
    180
    58
    37
See reviews for
165
242
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

my partner and I have just stayed here for 4 nights. Yes, it is close to the Manhattan Bridge but we were not bothered at all by the light rumble of the trains. We live on a main road in London so we're used to a certain amount of traffic noise but the train noise is more of a light rumble. I wore my earplugs but my partner didn't and we both slept brilliantly. The bed was really comfortable, the room was incredibly clean and the bathroom was clean too. We would definitely recommend this place to others. don't be put off by the trains, the noise isn't an issue and its so nice otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mwlondon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had to leave the place we were in last minute so got onto Cheaphotels.com to book quickly. The price was great but we were a little worried about the location, because Chinatown can have rough areas. It was great -- really fun street like old Shanghai! The room was adequate - not fancy, but clean and I felt save and secure. The receptionists in the lobby were kind and professional. I will stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank QuantumDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Mid town was $350+ so I went with Hotel 91 and the stay was good not great. Neighborhood is right in the middle of Chinatown with all it's sights and smells. Quick walk to the East river for a run or stroll. Instant coffee in the morn - no food options. Clean small room. Overall it worked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevated train
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is in the heart of China Town which is a great area to stay in Manhattan. Its proximity to the Manhattan Bridge can be good or bad. The train runs often but the noise isn't too bad... its a low rumble that wouldn't wake a sound sleeper. It didn't bother me. And I liked being close to the iconic bridge (although the Brooklyn Bridge is a much nice walk across the river). The hotel is close to some great sights and isn't far from the financial district where most of my clients are located.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReyShaunMadolora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I must say I was worried about going to this hotel, but I had no need. The Hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, the beds are clean and confortable, I have travelled and stayed in many hotels and this one is very good value for the money. On the down side it is a little way from the likes of Time Square and 5th avenue shopping area but we got a Metroticket for $29 lasting 7 days and is unlimited travel, this I would also recommend. Regarding the noise from the trains we never heard a thing, just ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel. The location is in China Town and the shops display all their wares in the pavement which makes it a bit smelly, but once past these shops everything is fine. I would not let this put you off. I would stay here again it is value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyluck1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just need a place to sleep, it's okay, nothing else fancy! Our room was right next to the Manhattan bridge with subway running constantly, but it didn't bother us at all. Double layer windows help tone the noise. Being in Chinatown, one should expect the smell, but one advantage is that several grocery stores are across the alley, which at first I thought was a warehouse. Able to buy some fresh fruits for the day.
Very unusual set up to the Reception/Lobby area and no security at all. The entrance look grand and there's a long walkway before you have to take a few steps down, worst, when you are carrying your luggage(s), and then you find this hidden elevator with a sign saying the lobby is on the 2nd floor. Step off the elevator on the 2nd floor and the small reception desk sits right in front.
Hotel need to replace their thin, old towels. Towels are very thin and small. There are two of us, and only one hand towel and one face towel. I guess we have to share.
Taxi cabs are very hard to get. You have to walk a few blocks before you can even find an available taxi. Worst at night, when the streets get very quiet and not quite safe. You'll see a driver sitting in the car parked on the side and when you're standing in a corner trying to hail for a taxi, the driver come and ask if you need a ride. We're trying to find a cab for my daughter, but I will not let her get into the unmarked car!! after about 20 mins, she was able to get a taxi.

Not sure if I will stay in that hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#428 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#403 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel 91? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel 91

Property: The Hotel 91
Address: 91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002-7014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel 91 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 70 room smoke free hotel in Manhattan’s vibrant Lower East Side. Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, Wall Street, and other major NYC attractions are only steps away. The Hotel is easily accessible by car, taxi, and public transportation. Hotel 91 is the perfect synergy between luxurious downtown boutique and outstanding value; offering reasonably sized guest rooms and room accommodations in a bargain for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel 91 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
91 Hotel New York City
Hotel 91

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing