We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable but beware of the web site!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tenement Museum

Tenement Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
NY Urban Pioneers Private Walking Tour
Ranked #27 of 1,079 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tenement Museum preserves the history of immigration through the personal accounts of those who built lives in the Lower East Side. Visitors can view restored apartments from the 19th and 20th centuries, walk the historic neighborhood, and interact with residents to learn the stories of generations of immigrants who helped shape the American experience. The museum is available by guided tour only. Each tour focuses on a specific theme and takes visitors to a different area of the building or neighborhood.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
225 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but beware of the web site!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I ordered tickets using the website and had a lot of trouble getting it to work correctly. I finally managed to order tickets and they were not for the time I had been trying to get. Long story short, they admitted the website was confusing and allowed us to apply our money toward a different tour. We ended up on the outdoor tour which was very nice but not what we wanted. Maybe we can try again next trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PennWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,616
    992
    251
    94
    45
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Educational and enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed two tours Hard times and Shop life. The concept of touring the tenement and hearing real life stories of immigrants who actually lived and worked in the apartment was fascinating and a great way to learn. Really well crafted and executed. We had 2 different guides who were very knowledgable and encouraged dialogue. It was a memorable experience and contributed to a great weekend in the city.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anywherefromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Visited this museum in early March. I pre booked the tickets online (necessary to book your date/time) and took both the Hard Times and the Irish Outsiders tours. I am the granddaughter of Irish immigrants and really wanted to check out the tenements that were so famous for immigrant life in NYC. I was not disappointed! Both tour guides I had really are passionate about their history and made for a very interactive time with the visitors. You get to see both renovated rooms as well as untouched rooms. The price is $25 per tour and they have a nice little museum shop as well. I highly recommend this little gem in NYC. One thing, it's best for kids over 8, not really for the very little ones and strollers are not allowed. Check it out, you will love it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerbug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A personal favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I love this museum. It gives you a true insight into life as an immigrant. My 11 year old was fascinated. What wonderful work they do.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tinah1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Good: fascinating history of just a small part of the city that gives you just a small slice of what has gone on in most large cities of this size. This museum is even more interesting because of the immigrant influx and struggle.
Bad: certain tours only available at certain times so you might have to wait a while for one you want. Expensive ($25/person) but worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Underpaid62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenement Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tenement Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing